Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
  NEWS
  Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
  FORUMS
  Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
  Games
  Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
  Audio/Video
  Cellphones
  Digital Cameras
  Gaming
  Gadgets & Gizmos
  Non-Palm OS PDAs
  PCs/Laptops
  Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
  FREEWARE
  Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
  ABOUT US
  Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
  LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices: 




  LINKS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Go Back   1src Forums > Topic Specific > Applications
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-25-2005, 01:58 PM   #76
MrNako
TH55 - THe Be55t
 
MrNako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: México
Posts: 1,152 MrNako is on a distinguished road
Any suggestion on how to format? I remember reading something about formating on ms-dos with some commands in order to get more space out of the MS.
MrNako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 01:59 PM   #77
Jeff Kirvin
Writer/Podcaster
 
Jeff Kirvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 926 Jeff Kirvin is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Kirvin
I do have the original driver. I'll try that. (Resco Explorer works wonders to copy the ROM and RAM of display units.)
Jeff Kirvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 02:19 PM   #78
jjesusfreak01
Custom User
 
jjesusfreak01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,942 jjesusfreak01 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNako
Any suggestion on how to format? I remember reading something about formating on ms-dos with some commands in order to get more space out of the MS.

To format your card:
-open up my computer in windows
-right click on the docked card
-tell it to format it
-it will give you formatting options, select fat32 if possible
-format

Note: Save the entire directory structure of your card first, so you can copy it back. Im not sure if switching from fat16 to fat32 will allow you to upgrade without first deleting all of the files.
__________________
Brad Green - Enthusiast Extraordinaire...

Sony TG-50, Sony TH-55, Palm TX...TH-55 still the best
jjesusfreak01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 02:26 PM   #79
JAmericanUX50
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjesusfreak01
To format your card:
-open up my computer in windows
-right click on the docked card
-tell it to format it
-it will give you formatting options, select fat32 if possible
-format

Note: Save the entire directory structure of your card first, so you can copy it back. Im not sure if switching from fat16 to fat32 will allow you to upgrade without first deleting all of the files.


Your right on the money JJF01 . I formatted my 256 MB MS to FAT32 and used CLIEFiles to rename it. Works just fine. Only problem right now is getting the MediaLauncher/AudioPlayer/FMP/CLIE DSP-related Apps to not freeze when using FAT32 cards.

JAmerican
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 02:28 PM   #80
Kosmonoko
Registered User
 
Kosmonoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 451 Kosmonoko is on a distinguished road
Hmm if i format my MS will it still work on a camera or PSP?
Kosmonoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 02:30 PM   #81
Jeff Kirvin
Writer/Podcaster
 
Jeff Kirvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 926 Jeff Kirvin is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Kirvin
I wish I could report better success. I loaded Dmitry's patched driver, renamed it to FATFS (it already had the same creator and type as the ROM version on my T5) and rebooted.

And just after posting my rant about how I never need to do hard resets, it hung on boot up and I couldn't get around it with a firm reset.

HARD RESET TIME!

Restoring now. Oy...
Jeff Kirvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 02:45 PM   #82
MrNako
TH55 - THe Be55t
 
MrNako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: México
Posts: 1,152 MrNako is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjesusfreak01
To format your card:
-open up my computer in windows
-right click on the docked card
-tell it to format it
-it will give you formatting options, select fat32 if possible
-format

Note: Save the entire directory structure of your card first, so you can copy it back. Im not sure if switching from fat16 to fat32 will allow you to upgrade without first deleting all of the files.


Uhmm well yes I knew that but there are some commands on MS-DOS to format using even smaller clusters or something like that.
MrNako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 03:16 PM   #83
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,068 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
if it does not work for you email me your PACE and your FATFS from ROM to dmitrygr@gmail.com and i will make you the driver you need

Also after you copy it to ram you need to do a soft reset to enable it

AND to install you need to sopy it co rd and then sopy to device via some filemanager ( ZLauncher works best)
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 03:19 PM   #84
Cyker
Registered User
 
Cyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,211 Cyker is on a distinguished road
Really? I just HotSync'd it over and then did a soft reset!

BTW, is it supposed to be called FAT32 or FATFS once it's in internal RAM?
Cyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 03:39 PM   #85
Cyker
Registered User
 
Cyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,211 Cyker is on a distinguished road
@MrNako:

Booted into 2k just for you

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmd
C:\> format /?
Formats a disk for use with Windows 2000.

FORMAT volume [/FS:file-system] [/V:label] [/Q] [/A:size] [/C] [/X]
FORMAT volume [/V:label] [/Q] [/F:size]
FORMAT volume [/V:label] [/Q] [/T:tracks /N:sectors]
FORMAT volume [/V:label] [/Q] [/1] [/4]
FORMAT volume [/Q] [/1] [/4] [/8]

volume Specifies the drive letter (followed by a colon),
mount point, or volume name.
/FS:filesystem Specifies the type of the file system (FAT, FAT32, or NTFS).
/V:label Specifies the volume label.
/Q Performs a quick format.
/C Files created on the new volume will be compressed by
default.
/X Forces the volume to dismount first if necessary. All opened
handles to the volume would no longer be valid.
/A:size Overrides the default allocation unit size. Default settings
are strongly recommended for general use.
NTFS supports 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 16K, 32K, 64K.
FAT supports 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 16K, 32K, 64K,
(128K, 256K for sector size > 512 bytes).
FAT32 supports 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 16K, 32K, 64K,
(128K, 256K for sector size > 512 bytes).

Note that the FAT and FAT32 files systems impose the
following restrictions on the number of clusters on a volume:

FAT: Number of clusters <= 65526
FAT32: 65526 < Number of clusters < 268435446

Format will immediately stop processing if it decides that
the above requirements cannot be met using the specified
cluster size.

NTFS compression is not supported for allocation unit sizes
above 4096.
/F:size Specifies the size of the floppy disk to format (160,
180, 320, 360, 640, 720, 1.2, 1.23, 1.44, 2.88, or 20.8).
/T:tracks Specifies the number of tracks per disk side.
/N:sectors Specifies the number of sectors per track.
/1 Formats a single side of a floppy disk.
/4 Formats a 5.25-inch 360K floppy disk in a
high-density drive.
/8 Formats eight sectors per track.
Cyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 03:45 PM   #86
MrNako
TH55 - THe Be55t
 
MrNako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: México
Posts: 1,152 MrNako is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyker
@MrNako:

Booted into 2k just for you


uhmmm.... thanks..

I think the eight sectors per track is what I need.
MrNako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 03:56 PM   #87
Cyker
Registered User
 
Cyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,211 Cyker is on a distinguished road
Confirmed: On FAT32-formatted card, Clie MoviePlayer and Clie AudioPlayer *don't* work.
Other problems: The Volume Label can't be read - My card is labelled CyMS1024-1, but Card Info thinks it is called "f", FileZ thinks it's called External Card, Launcher think's it's just called Card, SMBMate think's it's "$f[][]" ([]=Square block, not two square brackets)
Card initialisation & detection is half a second longer.

The loss of AP and CMP is a biggie
Arse.
Guess there's still some room for someone to code their own...

On the bright side, Data Import and TCPMP *do* work.


Since I actually need my TH for work I'm gonna put it back as FAT16 and copy all 900MB of my crap back over now before I goto bed (Times like this I wish I had an MS Pro reader/writer...!)

Keep posting your info!!


@MrNako: Actually, you probably want the /FS:xxxx and /A:xxxx switches...
Cyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 04:00 PM   #88
MrNako
TH55 - THe Be55t
 
MrNako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: México
Posts: 1,152 MrNako is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyker
Confirmed: On FAT32-formatted card, Clie MoviePlayer and Clie AudioPlayer *don't* work.
Other problems: The Volume Label can't be read - My card is labelled CyMS1024-1, but Card Info thinks it is called "f", FileZ thinks it's called External Card, Launcher think's it's just called Card, SMBMate think's it's "$f[][]" ([]=Square block, not two square brackets)
Card initialisation & detection is half a second longer.

The loss of AP and CMP is a biggie
Arse.
Guess there's still some room for someone to code their own...

On the bright side, Data Import and TCPMP *do* work.


Since I actually need my TH for work I'm gonna put it back as FAT16 and copy all 900MB of my crap back over now before I goto bed (Times like this I wish I had an MS Pro reader/writer...!)

Keep posting your info!!


@MrNako: Actually, you probably want the /FS:xxxx and /A:xxxx switches...


I am also getting crashes with Movie Recorder. I will do the same, going back to FAT16 for now.
MrNako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 04:15 PM   #89
LupeValenz
(^_^)/ Hi
 
LupeValenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NM
Posts: 2,936 LupeValenz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to LupeValenz
I'm stayin with the Fat16 as well. I like to watch videos (mostly lately the one of Advent Children ::droolz: and listen to my music ^_^, l'm happy with the speed increase though.
LupeValenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 04:18 PM   #90
lmame
Registered User
 
lmame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: France :)
Posts: 1,106 lmame is on a distinguished road
That's great
__________________
I'm a knight seeking for love :)
lmame is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My experience with New DLink 1.4.1 build 6 Bluetooth driver snowx Wireless 5 06-29-2003 09:20 AM
Eruware V. 1.2 still in beta? palo1 Clie NX-series 12 06-28-2003 09:21 AM
Driver not quite working since 1.1 JeffreyJM Clie NX-series 13 06-09-2003 09:21 PM
Sony CF Driver Petition Brainstorming Reggie Clie NX-series 15 02-14-2003 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.