| NEWS | | |  | | FORUMS | | |  | | FREEWARE | | |  | | ABOUT US | | |  | |
01-31-2005, 08:44 AM
|
#1 | | *** The Angel Defends ***
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Trans-dimensional Limbo
Posts: 512
| Buying Electronics over the web .. Ok I got this address from this Thread : http://www.1src.com/forums/showthre...3995#post773995
There is a website called americangoodies who claim to be the go-between for international buyers who want to buy goods sold in the US.
I'm kinda always looking for tech stuff that aint available here e.g. the Logitech MX1000 - (SamCat offered to send it but couldnt due to the postal restriction - appreciate the offer SamCat  )...
I'm wondering if it is any good to go to this site - their charges arent exactly reasonable - but if overall I pay lesser than buying here and if I get original goods, Then I might give it a thought - what I cant figure out is if the site is actually what they claim to be
I aint pointing fingers or such - but knowing the internet, you gotta be careful - any thoughts on this ????
__________________ TJ - Angel with swords - -The best way to maintain order is a quick beheading - - Hatred is the coward's revenge for getting intimidated |
| |
01-31-2005, 09:03 AM
|
#2 | | Need coffee. Need coffee. Platinum Contributor
Join Date: Jun 2002 Location: Alamogordo, NM USA
Posts: 2,045
| I will try to take a look at the site after work.... My first reaction to such an idea is caution.... There are corporate ways around export/import restrictions either by tariffs or by greased palms which run up costs. If you have the equivalent of a better business bureau to ask if they are allowed, legally, to import electronics into the country, that would be a good start.
The idea sends shivers down my spine....
danger will robinson... danger.. danger...
interesting thread though... I may catch up on that one after work too, compare the sites on ebay I have bought with compared to the complaints and see if my personally made up rules would prevent me from buying from those same vendors that ripped off the posters.... I have a severe list of how I buy on ebay.
__________________ And now, Grandfather, I ask you to bless the White Man. He needs your Wisdom, your guidance. You see, for so long, he has tried to destroy my people, and only feels comfortable when given power. Bless them, show them the peace we understand, teach them humility. For I fear they will someday destroy themselves and their children, As they have done so Mother Earth. I plead, I cry. After all, They are my Brothers.... ~ Prayer ~ |
| |
01-31-2005, 05:54 PM
|
#3 | | Well Said! -->
Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: Up in the sky
Posts: 553
| Reverse address and phone number searching didn't result in either american goodies or a Ms. Saskia Strick. However, that whole "Suite x" deal they are using in their address is typical of international mail forwarding services. Still, since it is suite no. 1 in this particular case, it may be their own service. I think they may be reselling an existing forwarding service, inflating prices in the process. There are several economical and good standing services to import items from the U.S., although most of them are only inside the continent. I strongly recommend using merchants that are aware of the international shipping process (i.e. integrated) as opposed to using thrid party services; otherwise you double the chances of getting scammed. Check out www.provantage.com , very respectable and international-friendly.
__________________ Get FIREFOX! Take back the web. And while you are at it, also get THUNDERBIRD,
and reclaim your inbox |
| |
01-31-2005, 06:27 PM
|
#4 | | Well Said! -->
Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: Up in the sky
Posts: 553
| Oh, also, a little something from americangoodies.com's WHOIS; seems kind of legit in this front...
Registrant:
American Goodies
1836 10th street
Suite D
Santa Monica, California 90404
United States
Registered through: Cheap-DomainRegistration.com
Domain Name: AMERICANGOODIES.COM
Created on: 10-Apr-03
Expires on: 10-Apr-07
Last Updated on: 25-Dec-03
Administrative Contact:
strick, saskia saskia20002000@yahoo.com
american goodies
3216 17th street
Santa Monica, California 90405
United States
310 466 1185 Fax --
Technical Contact:
strick, saskia saskia20002000@yahoo.com
american goodies
3216 17th street
Santa Monica, California 90405
United States
310 466 1185 Fax --
__________________ Get FIREFOX! Take back the web. And while you are at it, also get THUNDERBIRD,
and reclaim your inbox |
| |
01-31-2005, 08:19 PM
|
#5 | | Need coffee. Need coffee. Platinum Contributor
Join Date: Jun 2002 Location: Alamogordo, NM USA
Posts: 2,045
| you posted it before me... yeah... too many warning signs for me....
__________________ And now, Grandfather, I ask you to bless the White Man. He needs your Wisdom, your guidance. You see, for so long, he has tried to destroy my people, and only feels comfortable when given power. Bless them, show them the peace we understand, teach them humility. For I fear they will someday destroy themselves and their children, As they have done so Mother Earth. I plead, I cry. After all, They are my Brothers.... ~ Prayer ~ |
| |
02-01-2005, 07:29 AM
|
#6 | | nothing to hide
Join Date: May 2003 Location: skyline of numbers
Posts: 1,290
| I wouldn't trust them.. They seem a little too convenient. And if they do work, I question the legality.
__________________
"No folly is more costly than the folly of intolerant idealism." |
| |
02-01-2005, 11:40 AM
|
#7 | | Well Said! -->
Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: Up in the sky
Posts: 553
| Yeah, that too, not once do they mention customs & duties in their pricing...
__________________ Get FIREFOX! Take back the web. And while you are at it, also get THUNDERBIRD,
and reclaim your inbox |
| |
02-06-2005, 08:55 PM
|
#8 | | *** The Angel Defends ***
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Trans-dimensional Limbo
Posts: 512
| Thats the one thing that caught my attention up-front. There is nothing about the legal stuff... I mean - its impossible to bring something from there or ask someone to send it - so definetly, it must be difficult when you export stuff - I mean they would be able to send it over - but there must be end-less paperwork to that - funny no mention ...
Thanks for that link Hugo - will look at that  ... btw - have you bought from them before ???
__________________ TJ - Angel with swords - -The best way to maintain order is a quick beheading - - Hatred is the coward's revenge for getting intimidated |
| |
02-07-2005, 02:00 AM
|
#9 | | Well Said! -->
Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: Up in the sky
Posts: 553
| Quote: | Originally Posted by seraphim_9:11 ...
Thanks for that link Hugo - will look at that  ... btw - have you bought from them before ??? |
Almost, the one thing I wanted was U.S. only 
__________________ Get FIREFOX! Take back the web. And while you are at it, also get THUNDERBIRD,
and reclaim your inbox |
| |
02-12-2005, 08:29 PM
|
#10 | | *** The Angel Defends ***
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Trans-dimensional Limbo
Posts: 512
| Quote: | Originally Posted by hucsman Almost, the one thing I wanted was U.S. only  |
pity they dont ship here 
__________________ TJ - Angel with swords - -The best way to maintain order is a quick beheading - - Hatred is the coward's revenge for getting intimidated |
| | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM. | |