Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Palm > Tungsten
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2004, 06:20 AM   #1
tanker_bob
Master of Reality
 
tanker_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: N. Virginia, USA
Posts: 2,152 tanker_bob is on a distinguished road
Cool JackFlash/Sprat for T3

I updated my JackFlash/Sprat tutorial here for the T3. Spent some time this weekend troubleshooting the setup for JackSprat 3.0b3 and JackFlash 3.0b11. Brayer warns about problems with the T3 and is close to having a fix available. In the meantime, I believe I've found a stable configuration and gained almost 9MB of Flash as a result. YMMV.
__________________
Regards,
Tanker Bob
Tanker Bob's PDA Page
Reviewer at MobileTechReview
tanker_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 10:23 AM   #2
matrix42
Gizmo says "Woof"
 
matrix42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ottawa,ON Canada
Posts: 737 matrix42 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to matrix42
Let me just say thanks Tanker Bob, great info, actually might even give it a try, I have been extremely hesitant about using these two products ( although had used Jackflash on a M505 in the past with no problems) my hesitancy is also fueled by the fact that the last the "public" has heard is that: "We hope to have a fix shortly. " [Dec 29/03], Perhaps if Brayder put a wee bit of effort in to communicating the status I'd feel better. Right now it's a risk do I want to pay $26.95US for "beta" software to gain 8-9MB of extra space?
-Scott
matrix42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 12:45 PM   #3
Mech_TT3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 28 Mech_TT3 is on a distinguished road
The only reason I can see for using Jackflash on a T3 would be to put something like TealLock in memory to preclude someone from bypassing the security by using a hard reset.

I had my IIIc setup that way, and I assume that is still valid reasoning with the T3?

Phil
Mech_TT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 01:42 PM   #4
MonkeyK
Registered User
 
MonkeyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 94 MonkeyK is on a distinguished road
What security do you need if somone does a hard reset?
MonkeyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 01:54 PM   #5
Mech_TT3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 28 Mech_TT3 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by MonkeyK
What security do you need if somone does a hard reset?


The possibility of having the unit returned if someone finds they can't use it. Or the satisfaction of knowing they can't use it if they don't return it.
Mech_TT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 05:49 PM   #6
yorrick
Registered User
 
yorrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 855 yorrick is on a distinguished road
My experience on the T3 has been far less than satisfactory with JackFlash/Jacksprat.

I recently (beginning of February) bought a T3 and loaded the T3 update, then loaded up JackFlash and Jacksprat. It cleared out a lot of room, but I had a lot of white screen of death resets in which you waited for the battery to discharge completely.

Oddly enough, I had a fault with the T3 unit in the battery or something, so I ended up having to return and exchange for a new T3.

I have taken the opportunity to upload the new T3 update but not use JackFlash/Jacksprat and so far, I have not had any critical resets of the infamous "white screen of death".

Having said this, I feel it is important to say that with 64Mb of RAM, it is more than what I had in the past (16Mb on a T615C), so this hasn't required me to resort to freeing up flash .... yet!

I am sure TankerBob has resorted to this by now!
__________________
The answer is 42! If you know the answer and the question at the same time, the universe will then be swallowed up and be replaced by something even more inexplicable!
yorrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 07:34 PM   #7
KenSong
Registered User
 
KenSong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 630 KenSong is on a distinguished road
Thank you Tanker Bob for the detailed guide. I too pack my Flash to the max even though I may have space in Ram as it allows BackupMan to backup much faster having moved about 10MB to Flash.

I have had the white screen of death about 20 times so now I have a specially made pin that allows me to open my slider to disconnect the battery and restore from BackupMan, all within 3 minutes and I'm back up and running. I test lots of software so I believe my Hard Resets are not common.

If I don't make risky tests, eg crash on purpose, JackSprat/JackFlash is well behaved.

One note:
8) VersaMail and Extras - I don't do email on my T3, so didn't need this

I found that if these are removed, some may have problems with Exchange Manager the the call to send files via Bluetooth may cause a crash.
__________________
Kenny Song
Treo 680 + 8GB SDHC<LifeFlash+4GB SD< Palm<Clie<Prism<Palm<Newton<Sharp
KenSong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 08:39 PM   #8
tanker_bob
Master of Reality
 
tanker_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: N. Virginia, USA
Posts: 2,152 tanker_bob is on a distinguished road
No problem. I never use Bluetooth and in fact wanted to remove it from the Flash. I sent a note to Brayder about the Hotsync problems after removing Bluetooth support. I hope that they'll produce a stub to compensate.
__________________
Regards,
Tanker Bob
Tanker Bob's PDA Page
Reviewer at MobileTechReview
tanker_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 09:36 PM   #9
Brownster
Registered User
 
Brownster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 214 Brownster is on a distinguished road
Tanker Bob,

Curious...how often or many white screens of death have you seen while using Sprat and Flash on your T3. I had good look for a couple of weeks. But then started getting white screens of death and it became annoying enough that I restored my T3.

Thanks,
Jim
Brownster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 09:50 PM   #10
tanker_bob
Master of Reality
 
tanker_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: N. Virginia, USA
Posts: 2,152 tanker_bob is on a distinguished road
Jim,

None so far. I had two white screens of death before the Jacks--one with Docs to Go and one with an app I was testing. I think both were caused by conflicts with Palm's updated Security 5.0p. I use TealLock, so I removed the security update. No problems since. YMMV.
__________________
Regards,
Tanker Bob
Tanker Bob's PDA Page
Reviewer at MobileTechReview
tanker_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 12:00 AM   #11
yorrick
Registered User
 
yorrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 855 yorrick is on a distinguished road
Just as an aside. Is it possible to do another T3 update to over-ride the ROM image to restore it again?

Or is it possible to reload the ROM image that was created using Jacksprat back into ROM?
__________________
The answer is 42! If you know the answer and the question at the same time, the universe will then be swallowed up and be replaced by something even more inexplicable!
yorrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 01:24 AM   #12
KenSong
Registered User
 
KenSong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 630 KenSong is on a distinguished road
I would suggest you do a ROM image restore before doing a T3 update.
__________________
Kenny Song
Treo 680 + 8GB SDHC<LifeFlash+4GB SD< Palm<Clie<Prism<Palm<Newton<Sharp
KenSong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 02:49 AM   #13
PatrickS
Gadget Magnet
 
PatrickS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 359 PatrickS is on a distinguished road
Re: JackFlash/Sprat for T3

Quote:
Originally posted by Tanker Bob
Brayer warns about problems with the T3 and is close to having a fix available.
Just because I love these toys so much, I'm looking forward to working with JackFlash, but I really, really don't want to be a guinea pig. Your ROM is your Palm, after all. It seems to be a very, very hit-or-miss affair with these tools right now, even amongst folks with long time experiences with Palm.

I'm curious, bob, why you think Brayder is close to a fix? As someone else pointed out, they said that a long time ago and we haven't heard a peep from them since.
__________________
Vx ==> m515 ==> T|T ==> T|T3 ==> Treo 650 ==> Treo 680
<,,><
PatrickS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 04:43 AM   #14
tanker_bob
Master of Reality
 
tanker_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: N. Virginia, USA
Posts: 2,152 tanker_bob is on a distinguished road
I've been exchanging email with them attempting to nail down the problem.
__________________
Regards,
Tanker Bob
Tanker Bob's PDA Page
Reviewer at MobileTechReview
tanker_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 05:00 AM   #15
KenSong
Registered User
 
KenSong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 630 KenSong is on a distinguished road
This was the response I got from Brayder a few days back.

Kenny:
We are still working on the issue. Members of the Development Team are
returning from the Palm Developers conference held last week and hopefully
have more ideas on how to solve it.

We will post the new release as soon as possible.

The Support Team
Brayder Technologies Inc.
__________________
Kenny Song
Treo 680 + 8GB SDHC<LifeFlash+4GB SD< Palm<Clie<Prism<Palm<Newton<Sharp
KenSong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.