Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Palm > Tungsten
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2003, 01:07 PM   #1
dgantony
Junior Member
 
dgantony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221 dgantony is on a distinguished road
Is there a "HOLD" button on the T3

The hold button was very useful in my Clie. In addition to helping me not to turn on the pda by accident, it was great when I had to use Audioplayer by turning of the screen and saving battery. Is there smething similar on the T3?
dgantony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 01:14 PM   #2
iboar
W5JCK HAM Operator
 
iboar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 878 iboar is on a distinguished road
I hope it does have one. I know I accidently turned on my NX60 a few times when putting it in a case. Then I discovered the hold button and it never happened again!
__________________
Jack Swinden

w5jck.com

Blackberry Pearl, HP Mini 110, and iPod touch 1G
iboar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 01:18 PM   #3
Lance
Avid Palm User
 
Lance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 948 Lance is on a distinguished road
The T3 has a keylock feature, instead. Hold the power button down for a few seconds to activate it and to turn the device off. Then, the only way to turn the device on is by using the power button, and tapping on 'Deactivate' when the dialog pops up on the screen. Hope this helps.
Lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 01:24 PM   #4
JwY
Reborn.
 
JwY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto (GTA)
Posts: 830 JwY is on a distinguished road
thanks
this was one of the things that i was worried about in switching to a palm
JwY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 01:33 PM   #5
dgantony
Junior Member
 
dgantony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221 dgantony is on a distinguished road
Cool. Thanks, Lance. Will this turn off the device? Do I have the option just to turn off the screen (if I am listening to mp3s)

Thanks.
dgantony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 01:37 PM   #6
Alsicole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 268 Alsicole is on a distinguished road
If you're using Aeroplayer for music you can set how the screen turns off and how long it takes. I have Never, 10 secs, and 60 secs listed as the options on my TT2.

I believe PocketTunes also does this. I've never tried RealPlayer on my T2 as I don't want their interfering spyware installed on my PC.
Alsicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 03:17 PM   #7
dgantony
Junior Member
 
dgantony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221 dgantony is on a distinguished road
Thank you, Alsicole. I'll try Aeroplayer and PocketTunes.
dgantony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 03:37 PM   #8
Lance
Avid Palm User
 
Lance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 948 Lance is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by Alsicole
If you're using Aeroplayer for music you can set how the screen turns off and how long it takes. I have Never, 10 secs, and 60 secs listed as the options on my TT2.

I believe PocketTunes also does this. I've never tried RealPlayer on my T2 as I don't want their interfering spyware installed on my PC.
RealOne player does the same thing, and you do not have to install the software of your PC to use RealOne on the handheld. Just remember to download the version for Linux, or here is a direct link to the PealOne Player - Palm OS 5 download page. Just select the Linux download for the ZIP file that only contains the Palm files.

RealOne for Linux Download - Palm Files Only

Take care...
Lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 04:00 PM   #9
dgantony
Junior Member
 
dgantony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221 dgantony is on a distinguished road
Thanks Lance. I'll check this also. For some reason, none of the audio players play anything on the simulator. I guess I'll have to wait for the T3 to test these out.
dgantony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 04:14 PM   #10
Lance
Avid Palm User
 
Lance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 948 Lance is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by dgantony
Thanks Lance. I'll check this also. For some reason, none of the audio players play anything on the simulator. I guess I'll have to wait for the T3 to test these out.
On the T3, RealOne player is installed in ROM.
Lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 11:52 AM   #11
Alsicole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 268 Alsicole is on a distinguished road
That's only on the US model.

European models have most of the non-PIM software as options on the second CD.
Alsicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:43 PM   #12
tanker_bob
Master of Reality
 
tanker_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: N. Virginia, USA
Posts: 2,152 tanker_bob is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by Alsicole
That's only on the US model.

European models have most of the non-PIM software as options on the second CD.

The US models are designed to provide work for Brayder programmers working on JackSprat.
__________________
Regards,
Tanker Bob
Tanker Bob's PDA Page
Reviewer at MobileTechReview
tanker_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 05:23 PM   #13
Quickster47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34 Quickster47 is on a distinguished road
Preferences

Lance stated:

"The T3 has a keylock feature, instead. Hold the power button down for a few seconds to activate it and to turn the device off. Then, the only way to turn the device on is by using the power button, and tapping on 'Deactivate' when the dialog pops up on the screen. Hope this helps."

And while this is true yuou must first activate the Keylock feature in the Palm Preferences under 'Keylock.'
Quickster47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 06:04 PM   #14
keelinlee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 751 keelinlee is on a distinguished road
Yes! The KEYLOCK feature is very useful
__________________
Tapwave Zodiac II + Sandisk Ultra-II 1GB SD
keelinlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 06:43 PM   #15
dgantony
Junior Member
 
dgantony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221 dgantony is on a distinguished road
Quick question on KEYLOCK simce I don't have the T3 in my hands right now: What happens if you do not tap the "Deactivate" button? I would assume that the unit turns back off. In the T3 simulator, it just displays the dialog and stays on.
dgantony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.