Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Sony > Clie TH-series
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2004, 08:14 AM   #1
Joomah
Junior Member
 
Joomah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5 Joomah is on a distinguished road
Question First time Pilot with Question

Hey all I'm new to these forums as well as to Palms. I bought the TH55 because it greatly helps me with work(I sell Cars)

Work aside I'd like to try some of the funner things like games, music and movies.

I've had no trouble loading some mp3's but I have some questions.

1) Is the Clie Gamepad no longer available?

2) I've been uploading things to my palm using the 'Palm Desktop for CLIE' software and the install button. Is this what I should be using?

3) What program can I use to convert movies to view on my Clie?

4) I'm a fairly heavy gamer on my PC, PS2, GC and GBA. What's the one game you would recommend? Genre aside.


Thank you all in advance for any help you can offer.
Joomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 08:28 AM   #2
Joomah
Junior Member
 
Joomah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5 Joomah is on a distinguished road
5) When I take pictures, how to do I upload to PC, and is there no way I can name the pictures? Instead of it being D12300304 or whatever it's naming convention is?
Joomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 09:10 AM   #3
Joomah
Junior Member
 
Joomah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5 Joomah is on a distinguished road
Anyone? anyone at all to asnwer any of these questions? Surely you can answer number 4?!
Joomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 10:25 AM   #4
Stealth69
Registered User
 
Stealth69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 34 Stealth69 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Stealth69
Questions:
1) Is the Clie Gamepad no longer available?

2) I've been uploading things to my palm using the 'Palm Desktop for CLIE' software and the install button. Is this what I should be using?

3) What program can I use to convert movies to view on my Clie?

4) I'm a fairly heavy gamer on my PC, PS2, GC and GBA. What's the one game you would recommend? Genre aside.

Answers:
1) I have no Idea! :-(

2) Yes

3) I have no Idea! :-( That two...sorry

4) Too many to list here. What kind of games do you prefer? Adventure, Word Adventure, Thinking, long term play (SimCity, Agression), quick play (CoconutFern aka connect four)...many many options!
__________________
Faster, Cleaner, Better for the World!
Stealth69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 10:59 AM   #5
Cyker
Registered User
 
Cyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,211 Cyker is on a distinguished road
1) Not sure. I bought one from CliePlanet a few months back 'tho

2) Yup. I'm still waiting for envicon to update PInstall 'tho - It's a MUCH better way of uploading stuff to Palms, but doesn't (currently) work with TH55

3) Umm.... anything that can make MPGs or MOVs depending on what you want to use. TMPGEnc is pretty good for MPGs (Free too!), but you're probably stuck with QuickTime Pro for MOVs.

4) SpaceTrader, Warfare Inc, TouchTetris, Lemmings... Sadly there are a lot of games that you can't play on the TH55 simply because it has no 5-way and the normal buttons are in non-standard positions. Unless you can find a Gamepad, but I've not even confirmed that they work with TH55s!

5) Not AFAIK.
Cyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 05:53 PM   #6
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The file manager has a tool option of rename.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 06:00 PM   #7
LupeValenz
(^_^)/ Hi
 
LupeValenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NM
Posts: 2,936 LupeValenz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to LupeValenz
Re: First time Pilot with Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Joomah
Hey all I'm new to these forums as well as to Palms. I bought the TH55 because it greatly helps me with work(I sell Cars)

Work aside I'd like to try some of the funner things like games, music and movies.

I've had no trouble loading some mp3's but I have some questions.

1) Is the Clie Gamepad no longer available?
Dunno bout that

2) I've been uploading things to my palm using the 'Palm Desktop for CLIE' software and the install button. Is this what I should be using?
Thats one way, but nother way is just click on the PDB file, a lil notice will pop up saying this will be loaded next time you do a hotsync, just a faster way of doing uploading programs into your clie.
3) What program can I use to convert movies to view on my Clie?
You should have a great program, free, on your CD rom for your Clie, Image Converter.
4) I'm a fairly heavy gamer on my PC, PS2, GC and GBA. What's the one game you would recommend? Genre aside.
Agression has always been a time consumer, just always love "Risk" style of a game. Can't go wrong with Acid Freecell as well and Chess is still good thinking game.

Thank you all in advance for any help you can offer.
LupeValenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 12:22 AM   #8
Jayman
Blackberry 8830 Verizon
Silver Contributor
 
Jayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 1,038 Jayman is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Jayman Send a message via AIM to Jayman Send a message via MSN to Jayman Send a message via Yahoo to Jayman
I like warfare inc... Great Game!!! Reminds me of Starcraft.
__________________
Become One With Your Treo!
Jayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 02:14 AM   #9
enderenya
iPod Touch 4 vs. TH55/E1
 
enderenya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 933 enderenya is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to enderenya
Re: First time Pilot with Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Joomah
1) Is the Clie Gamepad no longer available?
...
4) I'm a fairly heavy gamer on my PC, PS2, GC and GBA. What's the one game you would recommend? Genre aside.

1) Here's the cheapest place I found using Froogle

4) And... if you get the GC10 gamepad... I highly recommend NesEm

Of course this is where you wish you had a TH55/E because the brand-new beta supports BLUETOOTH MULTIPLAYER!

And I second Jayman on Warfare Inc. (which supports both bluetooth and wifi multiplayer)
enderenya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 09:47 AM   #10
Joomah
Junior Member
 
Joomah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5 Joomah is on a distinguished road
Thanks everyone, that was very helpful!

The only problem I have with the current Clie Camera software is that, to my knowledge, I can't rename the pics while seeing what I'm renaming. When I use the camera for work I'm talking usually about 30 pics at a time. So going into the file manager makes it very difficult to remane the files because without seeing the picture I can't remember which pic was which.

Can anyone recommend a Camera software that I could do that with?
Joomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 11:23 AM   #11
bobes
Registered User
 
bobes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 174 bobes is on a distinguished road
2) am I the only that use data import to transfer files to my MS? A refresh on zlauncher and I'm set. Don't need to hotsync.
bobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 11:48 AM   #12
Joomah
Junior Member
 
Joomah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5 Joomah is on a distinguished road
Do I have to have a slot on my PC to put in the memory stick to use Data Import/Export and Image Converter?
Joomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 12:06 PM   #13
jumpyg
Registered User
 
jumpyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: D-Town
Posts: 557 jumpyg is on a distinguished road
Re: First time Pilot with Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Joomah
1) Is the Clie Gamepad no longer available?

Joomah--I bought the game controller and quickly found out the CD that came with it had the old driver. Make sure you download the new driver from Sony's support site. That said, I used it a couple times, and haven't touched it since then. It's a little cumbersome to take on and off. Anyway, I've found I prefer the types of games that can be played with the stylus, like Vexed and Bejeweled. If I want to play something really fast, I jump on the PC.

It is cheap, so you don't have much to lose, I guess.
__________________
I just neutered the cat. Now he's a liberal.
jumpyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 09:02 PM   #14
*YellowRose*
~~ Blue Mod ~~
 
*YellowRose*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 2,733 *YellowRose* is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by Joomah
Can anyone recommend a Camera software that I could do that with?
There's no third party camera software that I'm aware of.
__________________
Remember: SEARCHES ARE YOUR FRIEND!
*YellowRose* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 09:03 PM   #15
*YellowRose*
~~ Blue Mod ~~
 
*YellowRose*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 2,733 *YellowRose* is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by bobes
2) am I the only that use data import to transfer files to my MS? A refresh on zlauncher and I'm set. Don't need to hotsync.
I do, too. Why? I generally only bother to do it with pictures and MP3's. I like my hotsync - makes sure my info's consistently backed up and all. But then, I'm a little anal about that.
__________________
Remember: SEARCHES ARE YOUR FRIEND!
*YellowRose* is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.