Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
  NEWS
  Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
  FORUMS
  Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
  Games
  Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
  Audio/Video
  Cellphones
  Digital Cameras
  Gaming
  Gadgets & Gizmos
  Non-Palm OS PDAs
  PCs/Laptops
  Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
  FREEWARE
  Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
  ABOUT US
  Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
  LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices: 




  LINKS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Go Back   1src Forums > Sony > Clie TH-series
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2004, 05:39 PM   #1
1ns4nity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 78 1ns4nity is on a distinguished road
Angry Wonky WI-FI!!!!

Whats up with the TH-55's wifi? Some times it works flawlessly, all web pages load, verichat works too. However, most of the time, most web pages will fail to load after netfront connects to the network, instead, an error dialog pops up saying "Invalid network settings." The Strange thing is that while that pops up for site A, trying to view a new site B will still work! Whats going on.....

BTW I tried disabling power-save mode but that didnt help.
1ns4nity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 06:33 PM   #2
threengs
Senior Pretender
 
threengs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 195 threengs is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to threengs Send a message via Yahoo to threengs
download the japanese wifi update. These a link for it on the th-55 forum somewhere.
__________________
"Mr. Jarod said that cockroaches would be the only things alive after a biological war. And a woman named Parker."

Handspring Visor, Handspring Platinum, Palm M505, Palm Zire, Sony Clie T-415, Sony Clie TJ-35, Sony Clie UX-40, Sony Clie TH-55, Palm Treo 650, Apple iPhone, Apple iPhone 3G
threengs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 06:44 PM   #3
FIA WRC
www.wrc.com
 
FIA WRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wherever the free beer is.
Posts: 408 FIA WRC is on a distinguished road
Wish I could help you. I'm sending this from my local coffee shop. WiFi has been great for me. After two days of WiFi for 45 minutes in power save with backlight at full the battery is at 60%. And that's not counting games, videos, and PIM.

Last edited by FIA WRC : 03-16-2004 at 06:48 PM.
FIA WRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 07:31 PM   #4
Zevi
Junior Member
 
Zevi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 13 Zevi is on a distinguished road
Re: Wonky WI-FI!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by 1ns4nity
Whats up with the TH-55's wifi? ... an error dialog pops up saying "Invalid network settings." The Strange thing is that while that pops up for site A, trying to view a new site B will still work! Whats going on.....

Well, my experience with the WiFi is that (1) it is slower than molasses, and (2) I learned to live with the annoying error message.

While the desktop that is attached to the same network loads pages quickly, the TH55 is zooming like a turtle. ClieSource, for example, loads less than 2 sec on the desktop -- 47 seconds on the TH 55! (PowerSave disabled, and both start with clean cache).

On the error note, I get the message, click "cancel", and the page continues to load. I don't know what the story with this, but it appears that other than some annoying factor, the error messgae means nothing.

Cheers,
Zevi.
Zevi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:33 PM   #5
jumpyg
Registered User
 
jumpyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: D-Town
Posts: 557 jumpyg is on a distinguished road
Wow, I don't have that experience at all. WiFi has been quick zippy for me, and no page takes as long as 30 seconds. Also, I've never seen that error message. I love WiFi on the TH55!
__________________
I just neutered the cat. Now he's a liberal.
jumpyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:54 PM   #6
Atomic Chicken
With the high-pro glow!
 
Atomic Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Nuclear Coop
Posts: 965 Atomic Chicken is on a distinguished road
jumpyg,

Same here.... makes me think they have a configuration problem of some sort.... WiFi setup can be tricky to someone not experienced with TCP/IP networking.

Best wishes,
Bawko
__________________
Is it a bird? Is it a plane? Both! It's the Atomic Super Chicken!
Atomic Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:06 PM   #7
Jooley
Sheltie Mom
 
Jooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 59 Jooley is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

Until yesterday afternoon, my experience with WiFi was terrific.  The WiFi network in our home went down yesterday, can't connect from the laptop OR TH55!  None of the settings in the router configuration have changed, the silly thing just stopped working!
__________________
"Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well." 3 John 1: 2
Jooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:28 PM   #8
ithinkinink
Senior Thinker
 
ithinkinink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Grace of God
Posts: 234 ithinkinink is on a distinguished road
Chalk me up for none of the aforementioned WiFi glitches...mine runs without a hitch I couldn't be happier with the speed. Actually I haven't found a site yet that I have has timed out or that I have stopped due to slow loading. I concur with the config error possibility.
__________________
Oddest picture taken with my Clie: Dental Impressions
Oddest recording taken with my Clie: My husband snoring
Oddest e-book read on my Clie: I'm still searching
Oddest note written in my Clie: Backup Clie

Clie. What's on your Memory Stick?
ithinkinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:46 PM   #9
pacer
Registered User
 
pacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 34 pacer is on a distinguished road
Another person where wi-fi has been flawless. It has better reception and range than my Powerbook G4.

Alex
pacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:57 PM   #10
evangel
CyberPastor
Bronze Contributor
 
evangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 191 evangel is on a distinguished road
I've had great experiences too. In fact, I can download files as fast if not faster on my Clie than on my desktop! I still can't figure that one out...
evangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:58 PM   #11
joker123
Registered User
 
joker123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 108 joker123 is on a distinguished road
can anybody try webmail.shaw.ca ?? I can't get to that site. It is my webmail from my ISP. I got invalid network setting like 1ns4nity.

Thanks

Jo
joker123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:06 PM   #12
FIA WRC
www.wrc.com
 
FIA WRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wherever the free beer is.
Posts: 408 FIA WRC is on a distinguished road
It takes about 15 seconds to load a web page on my TH-55. I think some are having slower times because of the WiFi access point they're using. The one at my local coffee shop provides exact specs and I just enter them into the connection settings and give it a name. Some places that offer WiFi might be using old hardware. See if you can get the specs and enter them in. It might help.
FIA WRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:45 PM   #13
Peloquin
1337 Member
 
Peloquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 140 Peloquin is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Peloquin
Has anyone had a situation where the Clié would simply lock up (freeze up) while trying to connect to a WLAN? I was trying to connect to my friends complete unsecured network this afternoon and it would not only fail, but I had to forcibly reset the Clié every time it did it.

I'm also having problems at home where it will see the signal, recognize that it's there, but not connect to it. Again, for testing, I completely disabled all security and it's just not getting connected (though I suspect this may be a router problem, but what if the Clié made the router go wonky).

This stuff worked fantastic on Sunday, so so on Monday and today I've not been able to connect once. It's very frustrating, like a carrot on a stick.
__________________
"Sweet Sassy Molassey! You are gonna pay a lot! And the cost is gonna be prohibitive!"

ICQ: 39791362
pelovish.com/clie
WebCam & Blog
Peloquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:51 PM   #14
pacer
Registered User
 
pacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 34 pacer is on a distinguished road
Now that I think of it, I've had the one problem but i didnt investigate, playing Pocket Tunes shoutcast stream and then loading up a web page seem to freeze up the wifi. I think loading up another fixed it.

So far I've been doing very limited browsing, pocket tunes streaming and hot syncing wireless.

Using a Netgear WG602AU (from memory) point

Alex
pacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 12:24 AM   #15
1ns4nity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 78 1ns4nity is on a distinguished road
So not everyone is getting the error message? This is way strange....it might have to do with which model they are using (like which country's model). I bought mine from Singapore and I constantly get the error message It doesnt seem to be a problem with the AP / home network because I tried using it at a public AP and I still get the same error message.

Will the jap wi-fi update screw up the clie?
1ns4nity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.