Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
  NEWS
  Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
  FORUMS
  Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
  Games
  Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
  Audio/Video
  Cellphones
  Digital Cameras
  Gaming
  Gadgets & Gizmos
  Non-Palm OS PDAs
  PCs/Laptops
  Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
  FREEWARE
  Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
  ABOUT US
  Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
  LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices: 




  LINKS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Go Back   1src Forums > Topic Specific > Applications > Games
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2003, 05:58 PM   #31
jledesma
Señor Miembro!
 
jledesma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: México
Posts: 449 jledesma is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jledesma
Quote:
Originally posted by Unregistered
Whats the correct path / file names to be using?

Ive got Monkey Island 1, with *.lfl and *.lec files, but no 000 or 001 or 00anthony files

Ive got the files in /palm/games/mi1/

so the path should be ^^^^^^^

these are the files i have

000.lfl
901.lfl
902.lfl
903.lfl
904.lfl
disc01.lec
disc02.lec
disc03.lec
disc04.lec

and of course

monkey.exe

Do the ###.lfl files get renamed to GameName.### ? (about to try it)

Well that may have done it, but still no go.

Before I would get a color fatal error, now it takes a little while longer with a screen blip then a b&w error message.


Im using a nx70v so im guessing its a problem between the vm and os5? Also am i correct about the re-naming thing?


No, you cannot use the floppy version of the game, you have to use the game that comes with the "gamename.00x" files.

I'm also playing on a NX and yes, there are some major gripes about it, but it is due to the OS5.

Chrilith will work on our problems as soon as he gets to the 0.3.0b version of his port.
__________________
-----BEGIN PALM CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 1.1
PD f+ h b p+ o++ m++ F- v+ g+ k r+ c++ n+ t-- a++ G+ E M++ DP{T3}
------END PALM CODE BLOCK------
jledesma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 02:54 AM   #32
Draak
Irrelevant Draak of Ninth
 
Draak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 113 Draak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by Zork
draak, mowog, dont enter the correct values there ! Thats how the game crashes. there is some way to bypass that protection. It were posted here once and were something bout clicking at some corner or something like that. BTW Post a save game on some public site. Like to see the game on my Clie too after all .


I know this has benn already discussed. But anyway. all seems not to work with my Clie and the fremch version of DOTT.
__________________
Resistance is futile, You will be assimilated.
Draak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 03:05 AM   #33
Zork
Registered User
 
Zork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 333 Zork is on a distinguished road
unregistered, just put the 5 unrenamed .lfl files into a folder called monkey inside the games folder.

Then enter at the path monkey/ and at game monkey

Thats it.

If you still have problems try either flipping or double buffer as gfx cause they are more compatible.
Zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 05:06 AM   #34
chrilith
Registered User
 
chrilith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: France
Posts: 822 chrilith is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by jledesma


No, you cannot use the floppy version of the game, you have to use the game that comes with the "gamename.00x" files.

I'm also playing on a NX and yes, there are some major gripes about it, but it is due to the OS5.

Chrilith will work on our problems as soon as he gets to the 0.3.0b version of his port.


Ooops, yes you can use the floppy version of monkey 1, just put all your files on a folder and use monkey or monkeyvga as game name (don't remember wich one )
chrilith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 06:11 AM   #35
deadlyfoez
Evil Kreations Inc.
 
deadlyfoez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: uranus
Posts: 137 deadlyfoez is on a distinguished road
monkeyvga
deadlyfoez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 10:29 AM   #36
Zork
Registered User
 
Zork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 333 Zork is on a distinguished road
chrilith, really like to finish zak256 or starting SamNMax. Any news bout the 0 bucks for Annie bug or the memory leak at the start of SamNMax ? Would be surely welcome .
Zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 11:48 AM   #37
jledesma
Señor Miembro!
 
jledesma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: México
Posts: 449 jledesma is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jledesma
Quote:
Originally posted by chrilith


Ooops, yes you can use the floppy version of monkey 1, just put all your files on a folder and use monkey or monkeyvga as game name (don't remember wich one )


Sorry about that. I'm sure I read it somewhere in the scummv official site. I think I'll better keep quiet now.
__________________
-----BEGIN PALM CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 1.1
PD f+ h b p+ o++ m++ F- v+ g+ k r+ c++ n+ t-- a++ G+ E M++ DP{T3}
------END PALM CODE BLOCK------
jledesma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 02:52 AM   #38
chrilith
Registered User
 
chrilith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: France
Posts: 822 chrilith is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by Zork
chrilith, really like to finish zak256 or starting SamNMax. Any news bout the 0 bucks for Annie bug or the memory leak at the start of SamNMax ? Would be surely welcome .


There is no prob for me with sam n max, don't know what exactly occured.

I'm currrently working on the v0.3.0b but there is few things that need to be fixed (mainly due to use of uninitialized variables on scummvm code)
chrilith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 10:23 AM   #39
Zork
Registered User
 
Zork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 333 Zork is on a distinguished road
chrilith, the prob with SamNMax happens on every T625 (i werent the only which searched for a save game file at this forum directly from start of the game to bypass that bug ).
So perhaps you could check the lines at the C source which is mentioned at the error code i posted at this forum ? SamNMax would be really kewl. BTW 0.3.0 is surely awesome too, but as far as i remebmer it mainly supports as new games The Dig (simply the best adventure game of all times) and Monkey 3. But both of this games couldnt be played on a PDA cause of their size (prerendered movies alone would take almost 200 MB).
So I hope that the other known bugs (SamNMax and Annie 0 bucks ) could be solved with 0.3.0 too.
BTW bout uninitialized variables. Thats horrible C developing, but at most compilers they simply would be set to zero at first appearance. Or they are used mainly as reference and during function execution their value, so the initial value (0) wouldnt matter at all. Just in case you didnt knew .

Last edited by Zork : 01-20-2003 at 10:26 AM.
Zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 10:48 AM   #40
jledesma
Señor Miembro!
 
jledesma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: México
Posts: 449 jledesma is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jledesma
Zork:
I know about C programming, and the variables are not set automatically to zero, they are only assigned a space in memory, and if that section of memory contains anything that value will become the variable value. So you really need to declare all variables as initialize them before you use them, otherwise you'll get a lot of strange happenings and unknown errors.

Keep up the good chrilith we're fascinated with your port
__________________
-----BEGIN PALM CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 1.1
PD f+ h b p+ o++ m++ F- v+ g+ k r+ c++ n+ t-- a++ G+ E M++ DP{T3}
------END PALM CODE BLOCK------
jledesma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 11:02 AM   #41
chrilith
Registered User
 
chrilith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: France
Posts: 822 chrilith is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by jledesma
Zork:
I know about C programming, and the variables are not set automatically to zero, they are only assigned a space in memory, and if that section of memory contains anything that value will become the variable value. So you really need to declare all variables as initialize them before you use them, otherwise you'll get a lot of strange happenings and unknown errors.

Keep up the good chrilith we're fascinated with your port


In fact, this is true for PalmOS.
chrilith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 11:03 AM   #42
Zork
Registered User
 
Zork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 333 Zork is on a distinguished road
jledesma, start Visual C++, declare some int variable for example, set a breakpoint there and start debug mode. And one skip later you will see that the variable is set to ... 0. And as far as i remember CodeWarrior has the same behavior. Thats why i mentioned " ... most compilers ... " .

I presume that the ScummVM guys used VC (as most Windows developers do). And w/o automatic initialization to 0 it wouldnt make any sense at all to use such variables (beside the reference scenario i mentioned) and most (!) compilers would give you a warning the first time you access the value of this variable (seen such warnings during my development often, cause the horrible MFC macros hide many times the fact, that they didnt cover a class, but instead a class pointer. But the first time you compile and wondering why you get that "No initiliazing" warning, you realize ... "Hey, class pointer hidden again" . Indeed I could read bout the macro at the MSDN database, but reading manuals is just for wimps .
BTW Another reason for not initializing variables could also be that some pointer were deleted a few lines ago and when you declare a new int variable (32 bit indeed) its most likely, that its stored at the same mem offset where the pointer were formerly stored. So that could be some real brute way to store the pointer into a integer variable w/o wasting cycles by usin the load/store opcodes. But this scenario is dangerous and not really likely.

Last edited by Zork : 01-20-2003 at 11:05 AM.
Zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 11:06 AM   #43
chrilith
Registered User
 
chrilith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: France
Posts: 822 chrilith is on a distinguished road
Variables are not set to 0 or NULL by default with PalmOS and code warrior
__________________
... ...
ScummVM for PalmOS | Play your favorite Adventure games !
Click here to download the lastest release !
~
Rick Dangerous for PalmOS | Get it now !
Click here to download the lastest version !
... ...
chrilith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 11:16 AM   #44
jledesma
Señor Miembro!
 
jledesma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: México
Posts: 449 jledesma is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jledesma
Quote:
Originally posted by chrilith
Variables are not set to 0 or NULL by default with PalmOS and code warrior


That's what I'm talking about And also yes, Zork is right, there are many other dangers in not declaring variables.
__________________
-----BEGIN PALM CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 1.1
PD f+ h b p+ o++ m++ F- v+ g+ k r+ c++ n+ t-- a++ G+ E M++ DP{T3}
------END PALM CODE BLOCK------
jledesma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 04:17 PM   #45
Zork
Registered User
 
Zork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 333 Zork is on a distinguished road
chrilith, ic. Then they didnt thought bout other platforms when they did their sources with Visual Studio (where the variables or pointers are initialized with 0 or NULL) or what IDE they ever used with similiar behavior. But its bad developing at all (simply saves just one CPU cycle (store)).
But if CodeWarrior doesnt initialize automatically, then i hope that it at least warn you, that there are uninitialized variables in use during compiling ? So that prob is surely time wasting, but should be solveable. Good luck (not that you need it ).
Zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set up and run ScummVM Fez Applications 2 12-01-2005 08:44 PM
Restart Loop bwarrenburg Older Clie 8 01-31-2005 01:37 PM
ScummVM + DOTT + NX70 = No sound ? senhwei Applications 0 08-27-2003 07:39 AM
ScummVM news chrilith Applications 21 05-02-2003 03:00 PM
Easy fix for ScummVM wrong SilkScreen color palette bug hansschmucker Clie NX-series 2 01-18-2003 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.