Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Sony > Clie TH-series
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2004, 04:24 PM   #1
rldunn
Michigan Mod
 
rldunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brighton, MI USA
Posts: 2,275 rldunn is on a distinguished road
VG switching trick

This isn't really new, but I know a lot of TH users are new to VG and OS5. If you have the VG area showing (either in G2 or Decuma or any other VG add-in), you can take your stylus, put it on the VG change button in the status bar, and then drag the stylus to the right on top of the status bar, and the VG area changes to the next thing in your list. This is convenient when you want to switch entry methods fast, and it saves you a lot of taps over the normal method.
rldunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 05:00 PM   #2
jumpyg
Registered User
 
jumpyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: D-Town
Posts: 557 jumpyg is on a distinguished road
Thanks, that's a good tip. So far I'm liking Decuma more than VG2. I guess VG1 is too ingrained.
__________________
I just neutered the cat. Now he's a liberal.
jumpyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 05:03 PM   #3
rldunn
Michigan Mod
 
rldunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brighton, MI USA
Posts: 2,275 rldunn is on a distinguished road
Finding the MAC address

At work, I need to register my MAC address before I can access the wireless network. The problem was finding it. For others looking for it, here's how:

Go to Preference-Network and select Details. On this screen, there's a hidden menu, and on that, choose Information-ConnectionStatus. On the next screen, it shows your MAC address.

Many thanks to Griff for figuring out the above and sharing it with me!!
rldunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 05:06 PM   #4
rldunn
Michigan Mod
 
rldunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brighton, MI USA
Posts: 2,275 rldunn is on a distinguished road
I'm not new to either one of them, though I used my keyboard 98% of the time on my NX. But, for now, I'm using Decuma a little more than G2. I do use G2 in apps like Handyshopper, where it updates the search for each letter you enter. Same thing applies to Ultrasoft Money. But if I need to enter a lot of text, it's usually in Decuma for now.
rldunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 05:48 PM   #5
th303
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the info. I'll be trying to get my th55 on the office net tomorrow (after it's charged), and your tip will save me a lot of wasted time.

Much appreciated.

th303
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 06:04 PM   #6
joejoe
Registered User
 
joejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 424 joejoe is on a distinguished road
Great tip, rldunn - thanks!

Any chance you could start a "sticky" thread called Tips & Tricks for TH55 users? Coming from a 615, I've personally missed all the OS 5 Clie tricks & perhaps so have others.

Plus there's lots of new stuff to be learned & shared, I'm sure.
joejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 06:07 PM   #7
rldunn
Michigan Mod
 
rldunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brighton, MI USA
Posts: 2,275 rldunn is on a distinguished road
Good idea. This thread can serve that purpose - I'll rename it accordingly.
rldunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 06:09 PM   #8
joejoe
Registered User
 
joejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 424 joejoe is on a distinguished road
Wow, that was fast! Thanks!!
joejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 06:10 PM   #9
rldunn
Michigan Mod
 
rldunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brighton, MI USA
Posts: 2,275 rldunn is on a distinguished road
The The Go Go app provides a lot of tricks:

- Remaps the capture button to power on/off when the lens cover is closed

- Remaps the "4th" button

- Remaps the Voice Recorder button to do a hotsync.

Currently, the app is in Japanese, but see this thread for translated screenshots that show how to set it up.

http://www.cliesource.com/forums/sh...&threadid=42566
rldunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 11:47 AM   #10
contempt
Senior Bored Member
 
contempt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 380 contempt is on a distinguished road
Also, for those who don't want to give up on VG1, you can always use TealScript, which I've done for years now. It let's you customize your graffiti character strokes.
contempt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 07:07 PM   #11
joejoe
Registered User
 
joejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 424 joejoe is on a distinguished road
New tip: To start datebook entry, be in datebook & begin writing. That will bring up "Event Details" which will allow you to choose all the options for your datebook entry.
joejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 07:59 PM   #12
LeggNet
Created to Worship!
 
LeggNet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Utah, America
Posts: 317 LeggNet is on a distinguished road
No need to CUSTOMIZE NetFront 3.1!

As some of you might recall, I had earlier edited NetFront 3.0's user agent string to allow myself to log onto websites that require Internet Explorer.

I was just playing around with my TH55's NetFront 3.1 and have discovered that it allows you to change the agent string from within the program (no more hex editing!).

To do so, go to NetFront Settings then page down to page 4 (of 4).  Click Advanced Setting then select the check-box for "Change User-Agent" and edit your settings.

I changed mine to:  Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows NT 5.0) so my TH55 appears as a Win2000 box running IE5.  Works well for my online banking (Wells Fargo).

Hope this was helpful....

Cheers, Rich

Last edited by LeggNet : 02-24-2004 at 08:42 PM.
LeggNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 08:02 PM   #13
outie
Registered User
 
outie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 210 outie is on a distinguished road
I wonder if this trick solves the Starbucks login problem?
outie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 08:18 PM   #14
anitanium
anitanium contributer
 
anitanium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,383 anitanium is on a distinguished road
i was wondering what that function did!
__________________
back with a vengeance

--Pa1m0ne Treo 600
anitanium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 10:17 PM   #15
rldunn
Michigan Mod
 
rldunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brighton, MI USA
Posts: 2,275 rldunn is on a distinguished road
Leggnett, that was great!! I had no idea what that function did, and like you, I used it to be able to log into my bank site. I'm going to merge this into the Tips & Tricks thread, since I think a lot of people will find this useful. Thanks!!
rldunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.