Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Topic Specific > General
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2003, 10:19 PM   #1
chowmander
Not yet registered
 
chowmander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 225 chowmander is on a distinguished road
Unhappy SLOW INTERNET please help!

This is a bit off clie topic, but I dont know where else to go for smart answers from smart people.

Ok guys, heres my problem. For a long, long, time, I have had lots of trouble with my service provider shaw, cable internet. About 2 years ago I would say, its was dreadfully slow, so slow I tried to cancel and go for ADSL, but I found out becuase my phone lines were really old, it would cost a fortune to switch and rewire my whole house. So I stuck with cable and as of today, I have a router set up to 4 computers. 2 of them that actually use it a fair bit. Now, when only my computer is on, sometimes the internet will be fair to me, and work not too bad (still not "high-speed") but at least it works. And other times, it is just terrible, especially for cliesource. The pages wont load, i have to refresh 3 times before I get something to pop up. It is such a time waster, and to think I pay full price for this. I've complained to them a long time ago, and it seemed to have improved... but now its almost back to where it started. I swear that 56k is almost always faster than my cable. Average speed for my cable would just be slightly faster than 56k at its best. Now the service provider seems to vary from house to house, my friends seem to have blazing fast internet compared to me with the same provider. And someoen else I know who has ADSL has even faster (neighbour). I cant tell if my brothers internet is slow as well (i'll have to check when hes gone), but I assume it is. When i asked him, he doesnt give me a straight answer (kinda dumb lol), but I will find out soon. Now if my brother has kazaa on, and is not even downloading anything, wow, you should see my internet... It is just terrible, and when he downloads, its hell. But for some reason, my friends download huge files, at super fast speeds, and still have enough internet juice to view webpages. Yet I'm still stuck here, with crap *** internet.

Now these are all the possibilities that I have ruled out that could the culprit:
-service in my area is terribe and soemoen is hogging the bandwidth
-my network card is busted (but I would assume its either working or not)
-I set my computer as the DMZ host in my router settings
-I have norton internet sequirity running (though off I cant really tell much of a differnce (hard to judge sometimes))
-maybe my router is busted?
-cable not good
-badly networked


So, I dont really feel like changing network cards, and trying differnt slots in my router. I really doubt that anyting is busted or my network is not done correctly. I cant think of any other possibility. All I know is, regularly, I cant play a proper game of CS without my ping going from 80 to 500 every 5 seconds. Something is fishy here. Someone pleeeease help me. Is it possible my network card isnt working that well or a software conflict (doubt it).

Thanks guys, if all doesnet work out, I"m complaining to the service provider and I'm going to try and get ADSL again.

Any suggestions woudl be great!
chowmander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 10:20 PM   #2
chowmander
Not yet registered
 
chowmander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 225 chowmander is on a distinguished road
Just an update of my internet right now, its pretty good, it takes about 3-5 seconds to fully load a page on clie source which is probably its best ever!
chowmander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.