Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Palm > LifeDrive
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2008, 08:47 PM   #61
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
3 internal drives works, partitioning for 8 is complicated, i am addind support for extended partitions right now
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 09:19 PM   #62
brandon-wan
jedi mind trick
 
brandon-wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: under the twin suns
Posts: 157 brandon-wan is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitrygr
3 internal drives works, partitioning for 8 is complicated, i am addind support for extended partitions right now


[drool] literally, i cannot sit still. my wife keeps asking 'what's so important that you need to check that forum every 30 minutes?' she just doesn't get it... [/drool]
__________________
join us on the treonauts forum !
brandon-wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 10:30 PM   #63
tomlouie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 181 tomlouie is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon-wan
[drool] literally, i cannot sit still. my wife keeps asking 'what's so important that you need to check that forum every 30 minutes?' she just doesn't get it... [/drool]


I tell my wife I'm looking at porn when I don't want her to know I'm nerding out in forums.
tomlouie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:49 AM   #64
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
STATUS UPDATES:

  • i got 6 internal drives working
  • My driver allows ANY number of internal volumes of any size.
  • PalmOS limits the number of mounted volumes to 8 at a time, so since SD card is one and internal drive is 2 my driver will not mount more than 6. I find this acceptable.
  • drive mode exports no more then 5 volumes to the PC (incl internal drive and SD card - thus it only exports the first 3 extra volumes) i patched it to support exporting more then 5 volumes - it now exports up to 64 [here is my LD exporting 13]
    The patch itself is => [here] <=
  • for ease of partitioning the internal drives are just logical volumes in an extended partition, so assuming you can tell your partition manager to NOT touch the first 3 partition entries, you can use it to partition the MD with ease and my driver will pick those volumes up
  • If i am not mistaken donations for the 16GB CF card are at $55 total so far
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com

Last edited by dmitrygr : 02-17-2008 at 02:44 AM.
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 05:30 AM   #65
joepagIII
Dont Panic
 
joepagIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: plymouth nc usa
Posts: 674 joepagIII is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to joepagIII Send a message via AIM to joepagIII Send a message via MSN to joepagIII Send a message via Yahoo to joepagIII
wouldn't let me install to main memory....got 0x4002 eroores...then tred to card...worked fine...no errors...
joepagIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 11:06 AM   #66
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
it needs to be copied to ram from card
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 11:39 AM   #67
aka.bugle
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
 
aka.bugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Endless Mountains, Pennsylvania
Posts: 107 aka.bugle is on a distinguished road
sooooo.... is there any perceptible benefit of increasing ram on a 4 gig card? (64 increase to 256?)
aka.bugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 11:42 AM   #68
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
well, you can store more apps in ram

but this project is now well beyond just increasing ram.
now it has developed methods of using incompatible CF cards in the LifeDrive, allow more then one internal drive, and even allow cards over 4GB
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 11:51 AM   #69
aka.bugle
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
 
aka.bugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Endless Mountains, Pennsylvania
Posts: 107 aka.bugle is on a distinguished road
Do you have a new recommended (balanced) ram size for a 4 gig card?
aka.bugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 11:56 AM   #70
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
any size that you like.
personally i prefer 128MB, that is why my LD has right now.
In theory any size up to 4GB can be done
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:25 PM   #71
Another Michael
Registered User
 
Another Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Here
Posts: 399 Another Michael is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitrygr
any size that you like.
personally i prefer 128MB, that is why my LD has right now.
In theory any size up to 4GB can be done


Is there any benefit for T5 users ?

Say i want to shink the internal drive ( B: ) and add the spare memory to RAM ( 0: ) ? Possible and easy to do or it's a completely different thing ?

Or: Remove the internal drive completely to add the spare memory to RAM ?
Another Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:35 PM   #72
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
it is possible i am sure, but i haven't looked into the T5 at all (partially because i do not have one)
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 01:25 PM   #73
Another Michael
Registered User
 
Another Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Here
Posts: 399 Another Michael is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitrygr
it is possible i am sure, but i haven't looked into the T5 at all (partially because i do not have one)


Can somebody else look into it ? If you tell him how to do it. Whats about copy all ROM files and send it to you as a zip ?

Is that helpful ?

It is 5.2 MB as a Zip file. With german localisation. If you need enUS localisation, this won't be a problem.

Or do you need more ?

Last edited by Another Michael : 02-17-2008 at 01:32 PM.
Another Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 01:51 PM   #74
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
i don't know what i need, which is why i will not take this on without a device. and even then T5 does not really interest me enough, sorry
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:07 PM   #75
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,064 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
ok, i went ahead and ordered the 16GB card. i should be here soon
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opera Mini - save HUGE amount of RAM! Gazpacho Treo 15 04-14-2007 08:50 AM
PalmPDF Version 1.0! tosbsas Applications 71 02-19-2006 09:09 AM
MSMount for TG = lots of potential RAM! filber Clie TG-series 20 06-16-2004 02:20 PM
effect of heap size differences on NX73 v. NX80 for netfront/browsing bmat Clie NX-series 24 08-27-2003 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.