Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Topic Specific > Applications > Video
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2007, 11:45 AM   #1
Creideiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63 Creideiki is on a distinguished road
TCPMP Question

Okay, I'm making my first venture into video on my palm. I have a 1.2 Gig 2 hour movie on my card, but I keep finding myself interrupted while viewing it. Not particularly a problem, but then when I try to scan the movie to the spot I was last at, I get an error message. I'm assuming it has to do with the file size, though I'm not sure.

It's DIVX encoded, playing on a Palm TX. Plays great, just want to be able to jump around in the movie.

Do I need to rip it differently (smaller file size, different video codex)? I'd prefer to change the existing file if possible, rather than re rip it.

Any thoughts, ideas?

TIA!

<C>
Creideiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 09:49 PM   #2
yorrick
Registered User
 
yorrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 855 yorrick is on a distinguished road
Break the movie up into smaller (30 minute) segments. At least you don't have to fast forward as much or get strange errors when skipping the the right section.

I do this for movies on my handset and it's a lot easier to manipulate than having a single large file.
__________________
The answer is 42! If you know the answer and the question at the same time, the universe will then be swallowed up and be replaced by something even more inexplicable!
yorrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 01:03 AM   #3
jigwashere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73 jigwashere is on a distinguished road
TCPMP usually remembers where I left off. On large files, it takes it a minute to do so. Next time you get interrupted, go back to TCPMP and give it about 30 seconds or so to figure out where you left off. Be patient and see if it does this on its own.
jigwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 03:00 AM   #4
LupeValenz
(^_^)/ Hi
 
LupeValenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NM
Posts: 2,936 LupeValenz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to LupeValenz
1.2G for 2 hours!?! What the heck....most 480x320 2 hours movies range from 700-900MB. I would suggest making the file smaller to fit your screen resolution and avi/mp4 format gets good quality videos.
__________________
Sony NX-Sony NZ-Sony UX-Sony TH55-Treo 650- Treo 755P-iPod Touch->Palm Pre
LupeValenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 12:48 PM   #5
_Em
Beta Tester
 
_Em's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,378 _Em is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to _Em Send a message via AIM to _Em Send a message via MSN to _Em Send a message via Yahoo to _Em
Just remember to tap the screen when you're interrupted; the video will stop playing and your TX will go to sleep. Next time you open that video, it'll pick up where it left off.
Also: you really need to transcode your video to 480x320... I tend to transcode to 320x240 actually, and it looks good enough to me.
__________________
My Palm family:
Palm T|X ~ Palm T|E ~ m130 ~ m125 ~ POSE
_Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 04:09 PM   #6
cms
Tech Support
 
cms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Everglades
Posts: 1,452 cms is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creideiki
Okay, I'm making my first venture into video on my palm. I have a 1.2 Gig 2 hour movie on my card, but I keep finding myself interrupted while viewing it. Not particularly a problem, but then when I try to scan the movie to the spot I was last at, I get an error message. I'm assuming it has to do with the file size, though I'm not sure.

It's DIVX encoded, playing on a Palm TX. Plays great, just want to be able to jump around in the movie.

Do I need to rip it differently (smaller file size, different video codex)? I'd prefer to change the existing file if possible, rather than re rip it.

Any thoughts, ideas?

TIA!

<C>



I use mp4 format 320x480 with high sound quality (no hisses or crackles) the movie "300" (2 hours) came out to be 576mb. Most of my movies are around 450mb though.

TCPMP needs the elusive aac codec plugin (due to copyright violation) to play the sound though.
__________________
I have bought an Asus EEE 1000he. My palm TX is no longer needed. See my Replacer
You can now find me on the EEEuser.com forums :)

Last edited by cms : 12-03-2007 at 09:56 PM.
cms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 04:37 PM   #7
_Em
Beta Tester
 
_Em's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,378 _Em is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to _Em Send a message via AIM to _Em Send a message via MSN to _Em Send a message via Yahoo to _Em
That's the AAC codec (it also needs the AVC codec to play H.264 video).
__________________
My Palm family:
Palm T|X ~ Palm T|E ~ m130 ~ m125 ~ POSE
_Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 09:57 PM   #8
cms
Tech Support
 
cms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Everglades
Posts: 1,452 cms is on a distinguished road
Thanks _EM
Sorry to those I sent on a wild goosechase >.<, its edited now
__________________
I have bought an Asus EEE 1000he. My palm TX is no longer needed. See my Replacer
You can now find me on the EEEuser.com forums :)
cms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 04:21 AM   #9
ricas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 59 ricas is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by cms
I use mp4 format 320x480 with high sound quality (no hisses or crackles) the movie "300" (2 hours) came out to be 576mb. Most of my movies are around 450mb though.

TCPMP needs the elusive aac codec plugin (due to copyright violation) to play the sound though.

hi cms
which program do you use to convert to *.mp4? i've used FUW but it converts to *.avi, as far as i know.
is there a better way?
thanks
__________________
t|x & sd card
ricas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 11:16 AM   #10
Cyker
Registered User
 
Cyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,211 Cyker is on a distinguished road
It's probably a combination of keyframes and file length.

I've noticed TCPMP acts up if you have very few keyframes.
Any Simple Profile MPEG4 codec (MP4, DivX, XviD, but not H264) will work well, and MP3 or OggVorbis for the sound.

Try to keep lengths under 1GB if you can, but really it shouldn't matter.

That bitrate is the video encoded at out of curiosity?

(For the curious, for my TH55 I usually build videos with:
ffmpeg -i $INFILE -f avi -vcodec mpeg4 -b 384k -s 320x240 -mbd rd -flags +4mv+mv4+trell+aic -cmp 2 -subcmp 2 -g 300 -acodec mp3 -ar 22050 -ac 1 $OUTFILE)
Cyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 11:26 AM   #11
_Em
Beta Tester
 
_Em's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,378 _Em is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to _Em Send a message via AIM to _Em Send a message via MSN to _Em Send a message via Yahoo to _Em
I use VLC for my converting needs -- there's a script I wrote sitting in here on the Video thread. Just make sure to remove the space 1src stuck into the code that breaks the script
__________________
My Palm family:
Palm T|X ~ Palm T|E ~ m130 ~ m125 ~ POSE
_Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 12:08 PM   #12
cms
Tech Support
 
cms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Everglades
Posts: 1,452 cms is on a distinguished road
I use Winmp4 and WinAVI mainly, they are extreamly fast 15 mins to encode from avi to mp4, around 20 to rip off a DVD. I got the two threw p2p.

Any good way to upload some mp4 files here, I have a music video that is an example of the coding
__________________
I have bought an Asus EEE 1000he. My palm TX is no longer needed. See my Replacer
You can now find me on the EEEuser.com forums :)
cms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 12:19 PM   #13
vovka1965
Registered User
 
vovka1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,039 vovka1965 is on a distinguished road
DVD Catalyst kicks butt! absolutely, it does...
BTW, it also converts from video files (not just DVDs)
It is not free, but it is good and support is 24 hrs a day (sometimes in the middle of the night!)
__________________
__________________________

Palm TX + 8 GB Adata Card/SDHC
vovka1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 05:31 AM   #14
ricas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 59 ricas is on a distinguished road
thanks for the tips.
i must find some time to try your suggestions now.
cheers
__________________
t|x & sd card
ricas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVBackup Question Calvados Applications 8 09-23-2006 12:53 PM
tcpmp won't play mp4 dexor T|X-Series 13 09-19-2006 05:53 PM
TCPMP Question Blazew0n LifeDrive 5 03-20-2006 04:46 PM
TCPMP performance on TH55 louiscorpio Clie TH-series 32 10-28-2005 09:06 AM
TCPMP question Invisix Zire 4 07-23-2005 09:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.