Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Palm > T|X-Series
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2007, 12:15 AM   #46
Marex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 22 Marex is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwho
Wow Progress is amazing compared to last time I tried it.

Are there any plans to improve the digitiser calibration? Like many others with a TX, mine is out quite considerably, and as a result I couldn't use the keyboard very easily. Five points just aren't enough to align it properly. We need PowerDigi for Linux!


there is tool called "ts_calibrate" ... just run it, it can calibrate ... well ... everything I got in contact so far. Even tslib surpassed palmos touchscreen handling long time ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Em
Hmm... with today's update I get the following (loader works with USB plugged in):

* Loading modules... FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.21-hnd2/modules.dep: No such file or directory
* Running preinit function...
Nothing to do...
[OK]
* Init runlevel 5...init: timeout opening/writing control channel /dev/initctl VFS: Cannot open root device "mmcblk0p2" or unknown-block(254,2)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(254,2)


You need different cocoboot (or drop the root= option from the current one)
http://atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz/~miska/cocoboot.prc this one should be just fine
Marex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 01:05 AM   #47
joeags
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35 joeags is on a distinguished road
OK, I feel really stupid, and probably shouldn't even be messing with this thing, but curiosity has the best of me. I went to the testing site and downloaded TX Linux (all) and unpacked it onto my SD card on my TX. I have a linux folder, a zimage and initrd.gz on the SD card, as well as cocoboot in launcher (since moved onto main memory).

On the loader page I show:
885 Palm TX
/zimage xxx bytes
/initrd.gz: xxx bytes
command line: init=/linuxrc

I click Boot!, and all I get is a snowy screen. I tried a 2nd SD card, and I get a snowy screen. Am I doing something wrong, missing something, etc, or should I just let the grown-ups (youngsters probably in this case!) play with their own toys???
joeags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:20 AM   #48
drwho
Registered User
 
drwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 257 drwho is on a distinguished road
You do get a 'snowy' screen at first, and then it clears. How long did you leave it before resetting?
drwho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 04:59 AM   #49
alt236
Lost in the wires.
 
alt236's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 808 alt236 is on a distinguished road
Just a thing I noticed is that when I went back to POS, my auto-off timer had a ridiculus long value (it was up and running in my pocket for 10-15 minutes).
Just go into the power prefs and select a morec conservative one
alt236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 07:31 AM   #50
joeags
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35 joeags is on a distinguished road
Edit: It's been running for 3 hours, so something tells me it's still not working for myself. Maybe I'll try the "official" version to see if that starts up with my SD cards, as that could be the problem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by drwho
You do get a 'snowy' screen at first, and then it clears. How long did you leave it before resetting?

Last edited by joeags : 07-14-2007 at 11:44 AM.
joeags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 02:37 AM   #51
Miska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10 Miska is on a distinguished road
Try to remove card and insert it again and power off and on your Palm in PalmOS before taping on boot.
Miska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 02:42 AM   #52
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,068 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
well, to play devil's advocate [and annoy you a bit]...palmos boots fine with any sort of usb cable and sd card state
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 01:19 PM   #53
_Em
Beta Tester
 
_Em's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,378 _Em is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to _Em Send a message via AIM to _Em Send a message via MSN to _Em Send a message via Yahoo to _Em
Well, I had an interesting experience last night... I removed the rootfs flag from the boot app, and it ran through the init sequence and then started to boot... and then locked up when the graphical boot screen had just started.

When I tried again, cocoboot immediately reset the TX on launch -- the only way I found it would work was launching it from Resco Explorer instead of from standard launchers; even after a warm reset.

HOWEVER, at least one of the files appears to have become corrupted as a result of that crash. Everything fails to load, and the kernel eventually panics.
__________________
My Palm family:
Palm T|X ~ Palm T|E ~ m130 ~ m125 ~ POSE
_Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 02:22 PM   #54
drwho
Registered User
 
drwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 257 drwho is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marex
there is tool called "ts_calibrate" ... just run it, it can calibrate ... well ... everything I got in contact so far. Even tslib surpassed palmos touchscreen handling long time ago.

Thanks. That is better, but it's not as good as PowerDigi. Screen taps are still a little bit out in a few places
drwho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 03:39 PM   #55
carlusius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9 carlusius is on a distinguished road
hello all, i have some problems on my tx when i try to boot the angstrom opie version, so, i discovered the problem: the zImage file was wrong/corrupt. on the internet, i found the correct file and uploaded a pack with all the files to boot correctly on T|X.

Please, before testing, DO A BACKUP FIRST, probably you'll lost all your data on RAM and CARD.

Download Here: http://www.4shared.com/file/1776231...ie_PALM_TX.html

in this version, suspend/resume works safely.

the readme file was in portuguese (my 1st language, english is my 2nd language), but just unpack the cocoboot.prc to palm/launcher folder, and all the other files to the root directory. on the cocoboot, don't change anything, just tap boot.

and again, DO A BACKUP FIRST, RAM to card and card to PC.

Sorry for my english (it's my 2nd language, so take it easy)
carlusius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:18 PM   #56
_Em
Beta Tester
 
_Em's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,378 _Em is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to _Em Send a message via AIM to _Em Send a message via MSN to _Em Send a message via Yahoo to _Em
Thanks! That looks like the ticket to fix the problems I was having.

Oh, and Miska: http://atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz appears to have stopped accepting outside connections sometime in the last week.
__________________
My Palm family:
Palm T|X ~ Palm T|E ~ m130 ~ m125 ~ POSE
_Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 03:45 AM   #57
Miska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10 Miska is on a distinguished road
Some hosting problems :-( It's back online now ;-)
Miska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 09:17 AM   #58
juggernaut#2
Yes, the One !
 
juggernaut#2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 672 juggernaut#2 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlusius
the readme file was in portuguese (my 1st language, english is my 2nd language), but just unpack the cocoboot.prc to palm/launcher folder, and all the other files to the root directory. on the cocoboot, don't change anything, just tap boot.

This does only give me an endless white screen after booting.
__________________
mfg

juggernaut
explain my nick
juggernaut#2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 06:37 PM   #59
lemmyslender
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11 lemmyslender is on a distinguished road
Miska-

I downloaded from your site. Boots no problem. Runs pretty well. I'm still playing with it. Couple of questions though:

1) I always have to reset the time/date any time I boot it. Any way to avoid this?
2) I can't seem to get bluetooth to work. It will not enable?
3) Still trying to get sound to work?

Other than that very impressed.
lemmyslender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 12:26 AM   #60
gahenton
Registered User
 
gahenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Posts: 24 gahenton is on a distinguished road
I managed to get it installed and running on my TX, I can not get it to run a 1 gig SD card, but my 512meg will. So there is something strange there. I also notice that date/time is messed up. I have not tried BlueTooth. I am having fun. Runs very good and seems stable once it does get booted.

GerryH
gahenton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux - Ubuntu ... seraphim_9:11 OT: PCs/Laptops 2 01-23-2005 12:16 PM
Can't sync with Linux redneon Mac / Linux 1 12-30-2003 01:25 PM
HowTo: Linux / Jpilot / Pilot Link - Wireless JedTheHead Mac / Linux 8 11-17-2003 06:53 PM
Mandrake Linux newbie Joel Mac / Linux 15 08-19-2003 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.