Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Topic Specific > Applications
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2007, 08:02 AM   #1
pruss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 4,441 pruss will become famous soon enough
ShowBattery 0.01 alpha

http://www.1src.com/freeware/fileinfo.php?id=1650

This alpha-test software replaces the exclamation mark in the status bar of a T3/T5/TX/LifeDrive with a battery, but keeps the attention icon functioning as before (e.g., if you get an alert, now you will get an alternating exclamation mark and battery, and you can click on it as before).

Note: If you install this over a custom DIA skin, you will have to reload that skin after disabling ShowBattery.

It includes full source code, so you can modify it to your heart's content. It's all a very simple thing, not anything as sophisticated as the plugins Dmitry is working on. But it does the trick for me.

In case you're wondering if it'll slow down your system and how, I'll tell you how it works. It checks the battery state every minute while the device is running, as well as when device is turned or put in or out of cradle. If the state is not changed from last time (the change resolution is: 16 states for battery, plus one charging state), then it does nothing. If the state is changed, then it modifies three icons in the statusbar skin, and forces a redraw of the attention plugin by telling the attention plugin that the display has been rotated (though of course it hasn't).

It uses battery icons in StatusBarResources if there are any such (I have such because I have a private build of myKbd that handles battery icons) or else uses the icons from ShowBattery.prc.

USE AT YOUR OWN RISK
__________________
Alex Pruss

For my shareware (FontSmoother, myKbd, mySkin, Accenter, FastLaunch and AtomClock) and freeware PalmOS software, go here: http://pruss.mobi

Last edited by pruss : 02-06-2007 at 08:07 AM.
pruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:42 AM   #2
pokeypda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 416 pokeypda is on a distinguished road
That's pretty neat, I'd like to see what Church Punk could do with the icon to make it blend with his OSX DIA?

Are you supossed to get a % or anything with a tap and hold?
__________________
T|E -> TX
pokeypda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:49 AM   #3
cyberdude
It's superdad!
 
cyberdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Larchmont, NY
Posts: 2,944 cyberdude is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to cyberdude Send a message via Yahoo to cyberdude
Alex,

This sounds interesting, but I'm not sure what you mean by this:

Quote:
Note: If you install this over a custom DIA skin, you will have to reload that skin after disabling ShowBattery.


Do you mean I have to turn it off to have a custom DIA installed (I use mykbd to combine an customized Atomik keyboard with the blackhide DIA and statusbar by Velo) and then if I turn it back on the customizations won't work, but the battery app will continue to work, or if I disable the showbattery app I have to reload the skin via mykbd, or something else entirely?
__________________
Tom
TX,A-Data 16GB SDHC
Reviews:Propel, Agendus, Screen Capture Utilities, IDGuard vs SplashID, TealScan
Tom's TX pages
cyberdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:53 AM   #4
pokeypda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 416 pokeypda is on a distinguished road
When I tapped 'post reply' I went into a rest loop. After a warm reset statbat was off so I reloaded my myKbd Ddia skin and all is well without this statbat app.
__________________
T|E -> TX
pokeypda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:54 AM   #5
FerdFerd
Recovering Palm Fiddler
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,334 FerdFerd is on a distinguished road
Here's what I've found. I have a custom DIA-StatusBar skin installed via mySkin. If I load and turn on ShowBattery, the alert notice icon is replaced with the battery icon, which matches the default colors for the TX. If I then turn ShowBattery off, nothing is changed. The battery icon continues to be displayed until I reload the custom skin.

If I then switch to, say, the default DIA skin, it shows the alert notification icon, not the battery icon, even though ShowBattery still on. If I turn ShowBattery off and then back on again the battery icon reappears.

A nifty application, but one that will undoubtely aggravate the skin makers.
__________________
Palm V --> (Palm Vx+Palm IIIc) --> Palm m515 --> Palm TX --> iPhone --> iPhone 3G

Last edited by FerdFerd : 02-06-2007 at 08:58 AM.
FerdFerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:54 AM   #6
pokeypda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 416 pokeypda is on a distinguished road
'dude that's how you remove the icon.
__________________
T|E -> TX
pokeypda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:00 AM   #7
pokeypda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 416 pokeypda is on a distinguished road
ditto FerdFerd, wondering why I got the reset loop? Off to try again. Anybody, did you test the alert indicator with an alarm, I did.
__________________
T|E -> TX
pokeypda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:13 AM   #8
pokeypda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 416 pokeypda is on a distinguished road
I turned SB back on, tested it with an alarm and all seems well???
__________________
T|E -> TX
pokeypda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:43 AM   #9
FerdFerd
Recovering Palm Fiddler
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,334 FerdFerd is on a distinguished road
Just checked an alarm. No reset loop. The custom skin alert icon is displayed when the alarm sounds. The battery icon returns when the alarm is dismissed. In other words, all is well here.
__________________
Palm V --> (Palm Vx+Palm IIIc) --> Palm m515 --> Palm TX --> iPhone --> iPhone 3G
FerdFerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:53 AM   #10
pruss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 4,441 pruss will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by FerdFerd
Here's what I've found. I have a custom DIA-StatusBar skin installed via mySkin. If I load and turn on ShowBattery, the alert notice icon is replaced with the battery icon, which matches the default colors for the TX. If I then turn ShowBattery off, nothing is changed. The battery icon continues to be displayed until I reload the custom skin.


Yes, this is what I meant by saying that you needed to reload the skin after turning off ShowBattery.

Quote:
]If I then switch to, say, the default DIA skin, it shows the alert notification icon, not the battery icon, even though ShowBattery still on. If I turn ShowBattery off and then back on again the battery icon reappears.


Right. ShowBattery doesn't know that a new skin was loaded, so it assumes that the icon it had put up is still there.

The battery icon would have shown up anyway for you once the battery ran down a little.

Quote:
A nifty application, but one that will undoubtely aggravate the skin makers.


It's easy enough to put the battery icons into the skin--I have a version of myKbd that handles battery icons.
__________________
Alex Pruss

For my shareware (FontSmoother, myKbd, mySkin, Accenter, FastLaunch and AtomClock) and freeware PalmOS software, go here: http://pruss.mobi
pruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:56 AM   #11
pruss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 4,441 pruss will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokeypda
When I tapped 'post reply' I went into a rest loop. After a warm reset statbat was off so I reloaded my myKbd Ddia skin and all is well without this statbat app.


When you turned on ShowBattery, did you already have a myKbd skin active?


I'll have to look over the reset handling to see what could be triggering a reset loop. (Of course it might have been some other app, but that's not that likely.) I suppose you didn't get any error messages?
__________________
Alex Pruss

For my shareware (FontSmoother, myKbd, mySkin, Accenter, FastLaunch and AtomClock) and freeware PalmOS software, go here: http://pruss.mobi
pruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 10:03 AM   #12
pokeypda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 416 pokeypda is on a distinguished road
Yes, I did have a myKbd skin active, no messages.
__________________
T|E -> TX
pokeypda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 10:19 AM   #13
FerdFerd
Recovering Palm Fiddler
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,334 FerdFerd is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pruss
(Of course it might have been some other app, but that's not that likely.) I suppose you didn't get any error messages?
pokeypda indicated earlier that StatBatt was running when the reset loop appeared. Is that the likely conflict, since both of these modify the status bar?
__________________
Palm V --> (Palm Vx+Palm IIIc) --> Palm m515 --> Palm TX --> iPhone --> iPhone 3G
FerdFerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 10:28 AM   #14
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,068 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
no. pruss modifies icons, whereas i use the api that statusbar library provides
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 11:32 AM   #15
pokeypda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 416 pokeypda is on a distinguished road
FerdFerd: no I removed DG's app and reset before installing the AP app. I just refered to ShowBattery using the wrong name.
__________________
T|E -> TX
pokeypda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Alpha Tester for a post-security App : PalmCop khertan Applications 4 11-30-2006 05:46 PM
PalmIshido 0.01 alpha release pruss Games 37 08-01-2006 10:40 AM
NVBackup 0.01 alpha pruss Applications 72 06-27-2006 07:39 AM
Clie Launcher 16-bit mode force -- alpha test pruss Applications 0 08-08-2004 03:52 PM
Capitalizer 1.55 released pruss Applications 0 06-12-2004 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.