Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Topic Specific > Wireless
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2006, 03:11 AM   #1
HyperBRC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3 HyperBRC is on a distinguished road
Synchronize via Infrared

My laptop has an infrared device installed into it, so I want to synchronize via Infrared instead of via Cradle. Unfortunately I am having difficultly accomplishing this. The Device Manager states that "this device is working properly," but my Tungsten T3 still won't recognize the infrared device. I've read many forums and I visited the device providers website, but I can't find any helpful information. Palm doesn't seem to have any detailed guides for setting up infrared devices on Windows XP. Would someone please help me solve this?

IrDA Fast Infrared Port Properties:
Driver Provider: National Semiconductor
Driver Date: 3/17/2001
Driver Version: 1.0.0.0
Device Instance ID: ACPINSC6001
Hardware IDs: ACPINSC6001 & *NSC6001
Location: on Intel(R) 82801DBMDBMCLPCterface Controller - 24CC

Specific Questions to Help Solve Problem:

(1) What "Speed" do I set both the HotSync Setup and the Device Properties to (e.g. 4,000,000 bps, 1,152,000 bps, 115,200 bps, 57,600 bps, etc.)

(2) What is Flow Control? Should it be On or Off?

(3) What is Infrared "Transceiver A" and Infrared "Transceiver B"? What value should I set these at (SIR Transceiver, HP HSDL-1100/2100, IBM 31T1100, etc.)?

THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR YOU TIME AND EFFORTS!!!,

Hyper

Images:
http://www.1src.com/forums/attachme...ntid=4386&stc=1
http://www.1src.com/forums/attachme...ntid=4387&stc=1
http://www.1src.com/forums/attachme...ntid=4388&stc=1
http://www.1src.com/forums/attachme...ntid=4390&stc=1
http://www.1src.com/forums/attachme...ntid=4391&stc=1
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Advanced.JPG (26.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg Device Instance ID.JPG (22.5 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg Driver File Details.JPG (55.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg General.JPG (36.6 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg Hardware IDs.JPG (23.3 KB, 3 views)
HyperBRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 05:06 AM   #2
skaf
Registered User
 
skaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 234 skaf is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to skaf
I don't think you have to change anything in device manager, at least I didn't have to. Have you enabled infrared syncing in Hotsync manager?

PS: No need to double post.

Last edited by skaf : 04-11-2006 at 06:15 AM.
skaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 04:32 PM   #3
HyperBRC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3 HyperBRC is on a distinguished road
Thanks for your reply.

Yes, I did set the HotSync to "IR to a PC/Handheld"

How did you get yours to work?

I'm not sure how to set the Serial Port. My IR device uses Serial Port "IR," but the HotSync Setup only show COM3 as an option.

THANK YOU!,

Hyper
HyperBRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 06:56 PM   #4
larrysfernandez
Registered User
 
larrysfernandez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philippines
Posts: 67 larrysfernandez is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to larrysfernandez Send a message via MSN to larrysfernandez Send a message via Yahoo to larrysfernandez
In Win XP you will not have to set a COM port if you're syncing via IR. When you turn on your T|3 and point it to the IR window of your laptop, do you get a notification in your system tray that your laptop has detected another computer nearby? If not, then the laptop or the T|3's (or both) IR is not working. It doesn't apper likely that the laptop's IR is at fault, since it's supposed to be "working properly". On your T|3, do you have an IR keyboard driver? Sometimes, in my case, it messes things up and I have to turn off the keyboard driver.
larrysfernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 09:50 PM   #5
kiteandcamera
Registered User
 
kiteandcamera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 396 kiteandcamera is on a distinguished road
I went through this a year or so ago and had a problem trying to get the laptop and Clie to see each other. As I recall, I went into Network Places and created a new connection for the IR. That seemed to establish the link. Try it and let us know if that works for you.
kiteandcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 03:33 AM   #6
skaf
Registered User
 
skaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 234 skaf is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to skaf
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperBRC
Thanks for your reply.

Yes, I did set the HotSync to "IR to a PC/Handheld"

How did you get yours to work?

I'm not sure how to set the Serial Port. My IR device uses Serial Port "IR," but the HotSync Setup only show COM3 as an option.

THANK YOU!,

Hyper


As far as I know, you have to choose "IR to a PC/Handheld" on your Palm, and on your computer, right-click on the Hotsync icon in the lower right corner and simply put a tick in front of "Infrared". It should work after that.
skaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help me Palm Zire 71 Infrared problemo Martinga Applications 1 02-17-2006 12:48 AM
TX & Infrared connectivity Brjlk T|X-Series 8 10-28-2005 09:26 AM
N760C Infrared envoy Older Clie 4 05-04-2004 09:40 PM
Internet connection via infrared (in detail) for NX-70V? Unregistered Clie NX-series 1 07-14-2003 12:31 PM
Infrared HotSync GaryJohnSr Clie NX-series 9 06-26-2003 10:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.