Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Sony > Clie NX-series
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2005, 04:02 PM   #1
vma
Registered User
 
vma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 5 vma is on a distinguished road
Motorola Razr V3 phone driver

Hi,

I recently purchased the motorola razr V3, and l'd like to create the bluetooth connection between this phone and my NX80 to browse the internet w/ NetFront. How do i do this?

I know I probably need the phone driver first, but where can i get it?

Thanks.

Last edited by vma : 01-09-2005 at 04:47 PM.
vma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 05:14 AM   #2
LrdShaper
Registered User
 
LrdShaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 135 LrdShaper is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to LrdShaper
Here's my setup, I'm using UX50 and Motorola V80 but should still work (i assume you already have your clie and phone paired)

Under Preferences->Connection
========================
Create new connection (eg MotoConnect)
Connect to : Local Network
Via : bluetooth of course
Device : your phone device here

Under Preferences->Network
=====================
Create a new service (eg MotoGPRS)
you can leave the name and password blank
Connection : MotoConnect
then tap on details
Connection Type : PPP
Timeout : Never
check query dns unless you know the dns yourself
check ip automatic
tap on script and enter the ff:
Send:ATZ
Send CR:
Send:AT+CGDCONT=1,"ip",<your gprs apn here>
Send CR:
Send:ATD*99***1#
Send CR:
Wait For:CONNECT
End

that's it, hope this helps
LrdShaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 01:53 PM   #3
cat_taylor
Registered User
 
cat_taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 213 cat_taylor is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to cat_taylor
Thanks for your instructions. I've been trying to connect by attaching my Clie NX80 and Motorola V551 using a cable from Gomadic. They suggested I try adding Cingular's software, but it wants an older OS. I tried your instructions and googled to find the answer to <your gprs apn here>. Cingular wants a user name: WAP.CINGULAR.COM and a password: CINGULAR1. By checking other pages I found the 1 in ATD*99***1# should be a 3 (?) and it looks like the gprs apn should be wap.cingular.
(see http://alliance.cingularinteractive...iceSettings.pdf)

That would make the whole string:

Send:ATZ
Send CR:
Send:AT+CGDCONT=3,"ip","wap.cingular"
Send CR:
Send:ATD*99***3#
Send CR:
Wait For:CONNECT
End

Is that right? I still cant's get it to connect.

Thanks,

Cat
__________________
http://www.cattaylor.com
Happy user of Clie TH55
cat_taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 02:58 PM   #4
cat_taylor
Registered User
 
cat_taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 213 cat_taylor is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to cat_taylor
Update:

Phillip from Cingular was very helpful, although we still couldn't get it to connect. The best we got was several different permutations that got to "signing on" and initializing", but wouldn't make the final connection. We tried both a 1 and a 3 in the ATD line and tried adding an IP address. We also tried a different second line: &f&d2&c1&cgdcont=1,"IP","isp.cingular" in which case we used a user name of ISP@CINGULARGPRS.COM. We had already tried &f&d2&c1&cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.cingular" with the user name of WAP@CINGULAR.COM

We also tried restarting the phone a couple of times.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Cat
__________________
http://www.cattaylor.com
Happy user of Clie TH55

Last edited by cat_taylor : 01-14-2005 at 03:23 PM.
cat_taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 04:19 PM   #5
Ditch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I too am trying to get my V3 signed on to Cingular using my Tapwave Zodiac 2 (Palm OS 5.xx) via bluetooth. A frustrating pursuit at best (-:

This small thread has been the most valuable yet so far! I've successfully connected via WAP using my Mac G4 17" Powerbook, but have only gotten to the point where it bounces back and forth between "Initializing" & "Signing On". Oh the pain of getting close...

I did include a Username: WAP.CINGULARGPRS.COM
and password: CINGULAR1 in order to get mine as far as it goes, but we're still missing a precious piece of the puzzle.

It seems as if there isn't a Phone Driver available from Motorola for the V3 as yet and is in question if there ever will be (see link)

http://forums.palmone.com/pe/action...etooth_Wi__USCA

I belive that's the piece we all need!

It's my current "Holy Grail" and if I learn anything new, I'll be sure to drop it by here. Good luck and if anyone has success please post, I'll be in your debt (at least until my next unsolvable tech problem)

Thanks,

Markus

ditch@comcast.net
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 04:24 PM   #6
Ditch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

In my previous post I didn't quite finish my comment that I've only gotten to the point of "Initializing" and Signing On" with my Zodiac.

My Mac uses the V3 Razr seamlessly as a modem via a WAP connection for both browsing (albiet VERY slowly) and managing my emails.

Thanks and sorry for the oversight!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 12:44 AM   #7
cat_taylor
Registered User
 
cat_taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 213 cat_taylor is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to cat_taylor
Yup, I got as far as you did, bouncing back and forth between "Initializing" & "Signing On". I actually have the V551, not the Razr and am connecting to a Clie NX80 with a cable, is the issue similar? I went tothe link but don't quite get the pin# thing...?

Cat
__________________
http://www.cattaylor.com
Happy user of Clie TH55
cat_taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 04:39 PM   #8
Ditch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Not quite sure what you refer to about the PIN# thing on the link I posted? That link simply points to this response by PalmOne regarding the Razr Phone Divers (see below):

__________________________________________________ _

Bluetooth drivers for Motorola Razr V3
Jan 8, 2005

Thank you for contacting palmOne Technical Support. My name is Pramoda and I will be helping you with your query to know about the Phone drivers available for Motorola Razr 3 in order to connect it with your Tungsten T5 Handheld.

We do not have a Bluetooth software driver written for the Motorola Razr 3 mobile phone. We do not know at this time whether we will be creating one. We can only recommend you trying to search for third party sources for a Palm handheld compatible Bluetooth driver. We cannot commit to writing one since there are so many mobile phone models coming out every day.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

__________________________________________________ __

It does seem that we're having a similar problem even though you're connecting via USB and I'm using Bluetooth. I'm almost certain that its a limitation caused by the Phone Driver (or Init Script) not being optimized correctly to allow a final connection.

I did stumble onto an enlightening blog last night however that provided another angle on the Palm/Razr/WAP connectivity issues on Cingular, but I wasn't able to make the info work any better for me than what I found here. Perhaps it will help one of you. Check this page out:

http://www.genecowan.com/blog/index...g/connectivity/

Well, the search goes on... Persistance will overcome anything in time!

Cheers...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 05:14 PM   #9
SonyStyle
Clie Fanatic
 
SonyStyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,978 SonyStyle is on a distinguished road
sounds very complciated
__________________
Currently Own: UX50/U, TH55/U, NX70V/U, NZ90/U, Sony PSP, ipod vid 30GB

Motorola RAZR V3, Nokia 8801
SonyStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 11:03 PM   #10
Ditch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you're referring to the directions on Gene Cowan's blog site, it really wasn't at all. Just the same, I only got the Razr and my Zodiac to do the same things as they did with the directions listed earlier on this thread (bounced back and fourth between "Initializing" & "Signing On".

There must be a solution somewhere!!!

HEY TAPWAVE ARE YOU LISTENING... HOW ABOUT YOU MOTOROLA?

Oh well, it was worth a shot. Felt good to get that off my chest anyway...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 11:14 PM   #11
Ditch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Red face

Oh by the way SonyStyle, I didn't have any luck getting any of these protocals to work on my UX50 either (drat). Great PDA by the way, the UX50!!! Too bad they (Sony) droped out of the US market for PDA's and never followed up with an updated model. A bigger (OLED) screen, and boosted memory would have really made the UX series virtually the perfect PDA (IMHO). Sold my NZ90 a while back, but I doubt the result would have been any different on that beast either.

Had to leave the UX as the screen simply became too hard to read for many applications and uses (such as web surfing, word processing...). I'm about to sell my UX (as well as a virtually new VR100k video recorder for the Clie's) as the Zod is fitting the bill perfectly (though I do wish it had built in WiFi like the UX has).

Sorry for the diatribe, cheers!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 11:50 PM   #12
LrdShaper
Registered User
 
LrdShaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 135 LrdShaper is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to LrdShaper
I had that same problem with my UX50 and V80. bouncing back and forth the initializing and signing on. turned out that the apn i was trying to use was only applicable to my fone (digiwap). i googled it and found out that it should be "diginet" when using it from a pda. worked flawless ever since. i'm pretty sure its just the apn. also i'm posting right now from my ux using my friend's v3
LrdShaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 10:14 PM   #13
cat_taylor
Registered User
 
cat_taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 213 cat_taylor is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to cat_taylor
Has anyone made any progress on the V551/Clie connection?

Cat
__________________
http://www.cattaylor.com
Happy user of Clie TH55
cat_taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 04:25 AM   #14
cat_taylor
Registered User
 
cat_taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 213 cat_taylor is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to cat_taylor
Quote:
Originally Posted by LrdShaper
I had that same problem with my UX50 and V80. bouncing back and forth the initializing and signing on. turned out that the apn i was trying to use was only applicable to my fone (digiwap). i googled it and found out that it should be "diginet" when using it from a pda. worked flawless ever since. i'm pretty sure its just the apn. also i'm posting right now from my ux using my friend's v3


I finally received my bluetooth card today and was able to connect to the phone just fine after some initial driver problems with the NX80. I have tried all of our suggestions and the phone wakes up if the screensaver is on, so I know it's paying attention, but I still only get as far as the bounce. LrdShaper, if you were able to connect while the rest of us can't, one would think it's either the difference in the GPRS service or the phone model... our same V551 issue.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Cat
__________________
http://www.cattaylor.com
Happy user of Clie TH55
cat_taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 04:54 AM   #15
cat_taylor
Registered User
 
cat_taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 213 cat_taylor is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to cat_taylor
Here's another forum site with the same quest we have:

http://www.wifi-forum.com/wf/newrep...uote=1&p=261812

Cat
__________________
http://www.cattaylor.com
Happy user of Clie TH55
cat_taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hacking the NX73 CF Driver - day 2 CliePet Clie NX-series 67 07-30-2005 05:20 AM
Motorola V710 for Verizon - Palm BT Driver? sralmas Clie UX-series 15 11-30-2004 06:30 PM
ux50 bluetooth to motorola phone Unregistered Clie UX-series 2 02-05-2004 04:28 PM
Can't use starfish to sync motorola phone to palm clie desktop Milgram Applications 3 07-19-2003 09:47 PM
mobile phone + clie??? (motorola) cetchmoh General 2 01-20-2003 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.