Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
NEWS
Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
FORUMS
Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
Games
Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
Audio/Video
Cellphones
Digital Cameras
Gaming
Gadgets & Gizmos
Non-Palm OS PDAs
PCs/Laptops
Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
FREEWARE
Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
ABOUT US
Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices:




LINKS





























Go Back   1src Forums > Palm > LifeDrive
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2010, 03:02 PM   #1
vonfefer
Registered User
 
vonfefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 35 vonfefer is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb WPA2 on lifedrive hack???

Is it possible to use the Tungsten TX ROM wifi files (those with WPA2 encription) on the lifedrive ROM (which is editable) to make the LD WPA2 compliant? Dmitry told me he already did it but he refuses to pass it on... Also I bough a lot of software from him, changed from tungsten t5 to lifedrive and he refuses to give me new keys to the software I bought. Maybe hes not so cool at all... Anyway, I hope there is still somebody who could perform this trick, so here goes the proposition!

PS: Ive tried to simply substitute all the wifi LD files with the TX wifi files, and, it opens the control panel but resets when told to connect...

Best Wishes!

Vonfefer
__________________
Palm Pilot USRobotics > Sony S300 > Sony S500c (in english-after reburning the ROM) > Tungsten T > Tungsten T5 > Sony TH55 plus Treo 680
vonfefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 03:30 PM   #2
JavaJiveJump
Behold the Elixir of Life
 
JavaJiveJump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 931 JavaJiveJump is on a distinguished road
This would be nice to have.
JavaJiveJump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 10:04 PM   #3
ECONORAM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11 ECONORAM is on a distinguished road
I agree, this sounds like a good move...

Vonfefer, I can't speak for Dmitry, but did you remove all the software from the T5? That would be one of my concerns if I were him... I know he puts a lot of effort into his work.

Can you edit the wi-fi files on the LifeDrive to include the same text as those on the TX (ie copy/paste)?
ECONORAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:12 AM   #4
xandros9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19 xandros9 is on a distinguished road
Maybe theres a couple extra files needed alongside the TX Wi-Fi drivers... maybe an extra library or something.

Edit the wifi files with the tx code? you might as well copy the TX drivers right onto the LD, its saves time, but is met with a reset. I'll look into this sometime...

What I don't get, is DG's refusal to unlease WPA2 upon the largely dead PalmOS-land... Maybe there's a misunderstanding somewhere, or something, either way, I'd still like a reason as to why or a how-to... :S

EDIT: Simply copying all Wi-Fi related stuff from Dmitry's TX2 ROM doesn't work, I got a glimpse of a different Wi-Fi Panel UI but my LD resetted and went into a boot loop. Maybe a stock TX or the ESU ROM will be different, but I don't have one atm... hmmm...

Chris

Last edited by xandros9 : 11-20-2010 at 09:08 AM.
xandros9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 11:39 AM   #5
philpalm
Registered User
 
philpalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Alhambra
Posts: 1,209 philpalm is on a distinguished road
Glad you want to get WPA2

Onto other devices.

Just get a TX is one solution, since they cost about $200. What is so special about a Lifedrive, besides natively able to record sound natively?

However I wonder if the New Aceeda will have WPA2 or will they also fumble the ball on that aspect....
__________________
Th-55 U, T/X, TG-50, Handspring Deluxe (3) and PSP user.
philpalm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 07:29 PM   #6
xandros9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19 xandros9 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by philpalm
Onto other devices.

Just get a TX is one solution, since they cost about $200. What is so special about a Lifedrive, besides natively able to record sound natively?

However I wonder if the New Aceeda will have WPA2 or will they also fumble the ball on that aspect....


1. The Lifedrive has heck of a lot more memory, (i need all of it) out of the box, without DG's wonderful SDHC app. (which i am incapable of buying)
2. It looks cool. (the TX does too)
3. I can use the internal drive as a SD card, while having the SD card elsewhere.

I chose the LD mainly for the memory and bigger OEM battery.

The Acceca is meant for a rugged device, not really suited for consumer use, and it should have WPA2, considering the rugged secure-ish aspect...

and if I get WPA2 working, I will be really happy, considering I beat a problem! (I already got audio on my LD with YouTube and Kinoma EX, and a lot of other stuff with my older Z71, T3, etc. )

i like rom-nicking, its painful, but it delivers! (sometimes)

Last edited by xandros9 : 11-25-2010 at 06:38 AM.
xandros9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 05:06 PM   #7
JavaJiveJump
Behold the Elixir of Life
 
JavaJiveJump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 931 JavaJiveJump is on a distinguished road
Wpa2

Quote:
Originally Posted by xandros9
1. The Lifedrive has heck of a lot more memory, (i need all of it) out of the box, without DG's wonderful SDHC app. (which i am incapable of buying)
2. It looks cool. (the TX does too)
3. I can use the internal drive as a SD card, while having the SD card elsewhere.

I chose the LD mainly for the memory and bigger OEM battery.

The Acceca is meant for a rugged device, not really suited for consumer use, and it should have WPA2, considering the rugged secure-ish aspect...

and if I get WPA2 working, I will be really happy, considering I beat a problem! (I already got audio on my LD with YouTube and Kinoma EX, and a lot of other stuff with my older Z71, T3, etc. )

i like rom-nicking, its painful, but it delivers! (sometimes)

Has anyone been able to add WPA2 functionality for the LD? I am very interested to know how, if anyone knows.

(On another topic, I would also like to know if it is possible to transfer my CF card with all of my hacks, etc. to a new LD "shell")?

Thanks!
JavaJiveJump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 05:24 PM   #8
xandros9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19 xandros9 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaJiveJump
Has anyone been able to add WPA2 functionality for the LD? I am very interested to know how, if anyone knows.

(On another topic, I would also like to know if it is possible to transfer my CF card with all of my hacks, etc. to a new LD "shell")?

Thanks!


Apparently Dmitri had, but i dont know.
I broke my LD recently, so i cant do the sort unless i get a HD image or a preformatted CF card. but im thinking it may be too much to keep it running decently.

It should work, as everything unique is on the CF card (OS, apps, etc)
__________________
m505 > Z71 > TC > Z71 > T3 > LD (broke CF) > T3 & iPod touch (4.2.1 JB)
xandros9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 02:46 PM   #9
JavaJiveJump
Behold the Elixir of Life
 
JavaJiveJump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 931 JavaJiveJump is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandros9
Apparently Dmitri had, but i dont know.
I broke my LD recently, so i cant do the sort unless i get a HD image or a preformatted CF card. but im thinking it may be too much to keep it running decently.

It should work, as everything unique is on the CF card (OS, apps, etc)

Thanks! I'll try to login on Dmitry's old Palm's site and see if I can find and download it.

The reason for my second question is because I think some programmers tie in your serial number on the system board of the Palm with their software keys. Therefore, if you change your Palm, you may need to somehow re-register your app to work on the new device. I'm not sure, but I remember hearing something about that... Sadly, a lot of these companies/developers are long gone now.

I wish there was a way to truly image/transfer everything. I'm not trying to hack to re-distribute, I just want to get my stuff over to a new LD body.

Thanks again though.
JavaJiveJump is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LifeDrive and Razr V3c - what works and what doesn't nevarDeath LifeDrive 13 10-16-2006 11:11 AM
I'd like to ask dmitry or tyler for a hack for the lifedrive Maticek LifeDrive 11 06-14-2006 05:06 PM
LifeDrive to T/X poodle1 LifeDrive 6 05-05-2006 05:12 PM
I Love My Lifedrive but...... beelan LifeDrive 1 02-14-2006 09:23 AM
Static Destroys LifeDrive potter LifeDrive 18 02-06-2006 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.