Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
  NEWS
  Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
  FORUMS
  Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
  Games
  Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
  Audio/Video
  Cellphones
  Digital Cameras
  Gaming
  Gadgets & Gizmos
  Non-Palm OS PDAs
  PCs/Laptops
  Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
  FREEWARE
  Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
  ABOUT US
  Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
  LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices: 




  LINKS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Go Back   1src Forums > Tapwave > Zodiac
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2008, 11:21 AM   #1
drwho
Registered User
 
drwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 257 drwho is on a distinguished road
Zodiac versus TX

A friend of mine is getting rid of his Zodiac. He has offered to give it to me or else he will eBay it. Are there any things which the Zodiac can do which my TX can't? Or things which it does better? I don't want to take it if it will be no use to me: I have enough stuff cluttering the house already.
drwho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 11:27 AM   #2
_Em
Beta Tester
 
_Em's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,378 _Em is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to _Em Send a message via AIM to _Em Send a message via MSN to _Em Send a message via Yahoo to _Em
The zodiac is generally better at playing games due to the button layout. It also has a graphics coprocessor and 2 SD slots (one of which is SDIO); you can put a WiFi card in one slot and a 2GB card in the other.

If you don't want it, I'd be happy to take it off your hands
__________________
My Palm family:
Palm T|X ~ Palm T|E ~ m130 ~ m125 ~ POSE
_Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 06:44 PM   #3
icefireicefire
Aspiring Developer
 
icefireicefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a cow?
Posts: 469 icefireicefire is on a distinguished road
@_Em: what palm(s) do you have?

+the zodiac can to fullspeed DVIX video underclocked, because the graphics chip helps.
__________________
Quote:
I installed a program called Jackflash to watch flash movies
icefireicefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 07:04 PM   #4
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,068 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
Quote:
Originally Posted by icefireicefire
@_Em: what palm(s) do you have?

+the zodiac can to fullspeed DVIX video underclocked, because the graphics chip helps.



no it cant because no player uses hardware acceleratin for decoding since ati will not produce the docs for this
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 10:44 PM   #5
robitaille88
Registered User
 
robitaille88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 352 robitaille88 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitrygr
no it cant because no player uses hardware acceleratin for decoding since ati will not produce the docs for this


But doesn't TCMP have a Zodiac plug-in for hardware acceleration?
__________________
GBA PDA -> Zire 71 -> Zire 72s -> Palm TX + 1GB SD Card + Palm Universal Wireless Keyboard

http://canuck-pda.ca
http://canuck-software.ca
robitaille88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 10:36 AM   #6
icefireicefire
Aspiring Developer
 
icefireicefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a cow?
Posts: 469 icefireicefire is on a distinguished road
Yes it does, it uses the Tapwave API, IIRC.
__________________
Quote:
I installed a program called Jackflash to watch flash movies
icefireicefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 04:12 PM   #7
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,068 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
it only uses it to stretch video, not to decode anything, sorry
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 09:34 AM   #8
icefireicefire
Aspiring Developer
 
icefireicefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a cow?
Posts: 469 icefireicefire is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitrygr
it only uses it to stretch video, not to decode anything, sorry

Really? Then my zodiac must have some super-processor because i don't even need the processor (underclocked to ~33 mhz) to use CorePlayer for DivX
__________________
Quote:
I installed a program called Jackflash to watch flash movies
icefireicefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 01:54 PM   #9
dmitrygr
Software engineer/hacker
 
dmitrygr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 5,068 dmitrygr will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to dmitrygr Send a message via AIM to dmitrygr Send a message via MSN to dmitrygr Send a message via Yahoo to dmitrygr
divx itself is not hard to decode...
__________________
Annoying me is NOT an approved way of encouraging me to produce software

My software:PowerSDHC, PowerDrive, nuRom, UDMH, warpSpeed, PowerDiGi, brightnessFix, etc...
Get it all here:http://www.PalmPowerups.com
dmitrygr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 07:42 PM   #10
icefireicefire
Aspiring Developer
 
icefireicefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a cow?
Posts: 469 icefireicefire is on a distinguished road
Well that explains it! Thanks!
__________________
Quote:
I installed a program called Jackflash to watch flash movies
icefireicefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 07:00 PM   #11
Cyker
Registered User
 
Cyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,211 Cyker is on a distinguished road
Some docs for the ATI Imageon chip are available; Not specifically for the Zod's one I think, but a very similar chip is also used in many PPCs and picard used those docs to create the driver.

Now, the Imageon chip has a hardware MPEG4 (*Not* H.264!) decoder built into it, and Tapwave were going to release an update to add support for it on the Zod (but then they went under ).
picard's driver uses that decoder, and it really does hardware decoding for MPEG4-type streams (e.g. MPEG4, DivX, XviD) on the Zod2, which is why it can decode MPEG4 streams much smoother than a T|3 despite having half the processing power.
This is also why you might notice MPEG1 and MPEG2 streams being choppier than MPEG4 on the Zod's TCPMP, despite them being less CPU intensive codecs.

There are options in TCPMP for using the chip for full hardware decoding, scaling and rotation only, or full software decoding only.

(I just wish my TH55 had such a chip! Alas its GE2D chip can only be used for rotation and scaling, and nobody's figured out how to reprogram the TH55's DSP. )


The other cool things about the Zod are that:
1) It has 128MB 'Real' RAM (As opposed to the fake RAM in NVFS Palms); That's twice more than the next largest PalmOS unit!
2) You don't need UDMH to run anything because it has the biggest stack space of any PalmOS unit!
3) It's approved by the Stargate SG-1 team!

Last edited by Cyker : 08-11-2008 at 07:07 PM.
Cyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 10:05 AM   #12
El Maquinas
Palmpadawan
 
El Maquinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 521 El Maquinas is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitrygr
divx itself is not hard to decode...

Hi,

Means that my old Clie SL10 powered with a Dragonball VZ 33Mhz can play Divx videos?
__________________
Compaq Aero 1520 > Sony Clié SL10 [4] > Clié T625 > Clié T665 > Clié TH55 [5] > Treo 680
El Maquinas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is so special about Zodiac? Invisix Zodiac 21 08-01-2005 12:02 PM
TH55 to Tapwave Zodiac *owner* review Jingo Clie TH-series 14 01-14-2005 11:13 PM
Zodiac Game Ideas T1000X Zodiac 1 07-28-2004 08:23 AM
I want a Tapwave Zodiac because it's cool... JeffreyJM Clie NX-series 3 07-03-2004 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.