Shortcuts: Mobile | Active Topics | Newest Posts | Latest Freeware | Private Messaging | Contribute News | Archive 
  NEWS
  Search News
Browse by Category
News History
1SRC News RSS Feed
1SRC Podcast RSS Feed
Contribute News
  FORUMS
  Search Forums
Topic Specific
News
General
Applications
  Games
  Video
Deals & Promos
Developers
E-books
Mac / Linux
Medical
Podcast
Skins & Backgrounds
Wireless
Off-Topic
  Audio/Video
  Cellphones
  Digital Cameras
  Gaming
  Gadgets & Gizmos
  Non-Palm OS PDAs
  PCs/Laptops
  Tech Web
palm
pre
Foleo
T|X-Series
Z-Series
LifeDrive
Zire
Treo
Tungsten
Older Palms
Sony
VZ-Series
TH-Series
UX-Series
TJ-Series
NX-Series
TG-Series
NZ-Series
Older Clies
Tapwave
Zodiac
Garmin
iQue
Other Licensees
AlphaSmart
Fossil
Group Sense
Kyocera
LG
Samsung
Site Specific
Arcade
Comment/Suggest
  FREEWARE
  Search Freeware
Applications
Ebooks
Skins
Backgrounds
  ABOUT US
  Contact Us
Contribute News
About Us
Privacy Statement
  LOW PRICE SEARCH

Search for the lowest prices: 




  LINKS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Go Back   1src Forums > Palm > Zire
Forum has been archived.
Login has been disabled.
FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2006, 11:02 AM   #1
ahsirg
ahsirg.kvplab.com
 
ahsirg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 291 ahsirg is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to ahsirg Send a message via MSN to ahsirg
Zire 72 Vibrate

Hi!
I want to add a vibrate option (mod) to z72 like the TX

Maybe someone could help me create a vibrator solution to work with Dmitry Grinbergs TX drivers for my Zire 72.

Maybe someone has done it, or knows how to do it, please answer

Thanks in advance.

PS. Hi-res z72 inside photos are here:
http://ahsirg.kvplab.com/mambo/inde...id=30&Itemid=34
__________________
(to know my name - read nickname backwards)
http://ahsirg.kvplab.com
ahsirg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 09:06 AM   #2
BuRnN
HPSkin studio Beta tester
 
BuRnN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 885 BuRnN is on a distinguished road
a second that request

and by the way there is a how to open the zire 72 i need to open it up and seem to not be able to figure it out even after checking on ahsirg pictures
__________________
IMPORTANT INFORMATION
__________________

IAM FRENCH CANADIAN

__________________

Apple Newton Messagepad 130

Palm III, Palm Vx, Palm m130, Palm m515, Palm Zire 31, Palm Zire 71, Palm Zire 72, Palm Z22, Palm Tungsten E x3, Palm Tungsten E², Palm Tungsten T3 x2, Palm Lifedrive and Palm TX.

Tapwave Zodiac²

Sony Clié PEG-SJ33

PPC Casio Casiopeia xxx
PPC Toshiba e800 Wi-Fi
PPC HP Ipaq 2740

Apple Ipod touch 16GB second generation Jailbreak
BuRnN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 10:44 AM   #3
ahsirg
ahsirg.kvplab.com
 
ahsirg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 291 ahsirg is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to ahsirg Send a message via MSN to ahsirg
Here is a how - to.
Unglue the sticker
Unscrew two screws on bottom and one under the sticker
Take off the Grill
Unscrew 2 screws under the Grill

Use a small screwdriver to open the plastic clips that hold the zire together/
__________________
(to know my name - read nickname backwards)
http://ahsirg.kvplab.com
ahsirg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 02:48 AM   #4
Crajee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7 Crajee is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb

Even I was looking for Vibration mod on Zire-72.
Unlike TX we probably don't have a pin on connector where to solder the motor.
I have an idea!!.
One can connect the vib motor to the LED pins.
Then we need two things:

1.Some electronics connected to the motor to run it only if the LED goes on/off at a particular interval(frequency). This should be more rapid than PalmOS default (when it blinks the LED on "Screen Off" status as in Real Player) else the motor keeps vibrating when screen is off .

2. A driver that causes the LED to blink at that rate when "Vibrate" option is selected.

Any experts...?? Dmitry??
Thanks very much in advance.

Edit: Is the power of LED sufficient for the motor??

Last edited by Crajee : 12-30-2007 at 02:51 AM.
Crajee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 04:56 AM   #5
ahsirg
ahsirg.kvplab.com
 
ahsirg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 291 ahsirg is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to ahsirg Send a message via MSN to ahsirg
IMHO Probably not. LED has maybe 1V or even less, dunno.
Besides i threw out the idea of a vibro in a zire since i've bought a treo.
__________________
(to know my name - read nickname backwards)
http://ahsirg.kvplab.com
ahsirg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 05:26 AM   #6
Crajee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7 Crajee is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahsirg
IMHO Probably not. LED has maybe 1V or even less, dunno.


LED may be 3V but current may be low..
Then we can probably use power direct from the battery and use the LED on/off for switching..


Edit: There are two resistors leading upto the LED. One is 100E and another 200E. Voltage before the resistors is 4.0V.
Now things are therefore more easier..
1.We need to solder a vibra rotor between the two pins with a circuit that responds only on repeated on/off(blinking).
2. An app to turn off LED blinking for all apps except PIMs-Alarms (A higher frequency LED blink would be even better - in conjunction with a circuit in step 1. to detect only the higher freq).
Any one good at electronics willing to help ??..

Last edited by Crajee : 12-30-2007 at 11:39 AM.
Crajee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 01:40 PM   #7
Crajee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7 Crajee is on a distinguished road
Sorry, if I seem like bumping..
I thought many will be interested???
Basically I need a Delay off circuit(with auto reset) working at 3.4-4.0 Volts.
It should be with minimum components so as to fit within the casing.
Any one please..
Attached Images
File Type: png Power_LED.png (4.1 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by Crajee : 12-31-2007 at 01:45 PM.
Crajee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 12:35 PM   #8
Crajee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7 Crajee is on a distinguished road
Finally installed the vibrator motor (samsung) disk type as shown on the back cover near the middle beside the display ribbon cable.
It's really difficult to find a vacant place inside Zire72
It vibrates well when connected to the LED output (before the resistors).

Had a hard reset despite precautions (any way I had done a backup)

Now the main task is:
1. Electronics to make the motor vibrate only on blinking of LED (and not continuous on).
2. Disabling LED blinking on screen off.

can any one please help..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MB-Back.JPG (134.4 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg Cover.JPG (54.6 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by Crajee : 01-01-2008 at 12:37 PM.
Crajee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got Zire 72 :D Legodude522 General 0 11-02-2005 09:35 PM
Zire 72s or Zire 73? muco Zire 14 07-18-2005 07:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.

  AD HOSTS ?
  GOOGLE ADS ?
  AMAZON ADS ?

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2001 Entity City, LLC. All rights reserved.