1src Forums

1src Forums (http://www.1src.com/forums/index.php)
-   Clie UX-series (http://www.1src.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Quickest movie converter?? need some of your professional opinions:) (http://www.1src.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83136)

vybe232 03-21-2005 03:27 PM

Quickest movie converter?? need some of your professional opinions:)
 
Hi guys...ive had my ux50 for about 2 months...and i love it..most functional PDA i have ever used. AND i used to use a motorola MPX...i paid so much for it only to sell it a few wks after...as i didnt like it..the battery life was crap, and the device overall was not as good as it was supposed to be...so now i use the UX50 and a bluetooth phone with edge..works great:)

MY QUESTION:

what is the fastest movie conversion software....often times before business trips i like to convert some movies to watch on the plane...right now im using image converter 2 but it seems to take as long as the movie time to convert...are there any apps that can convert faster than the movie playing time...what is my best option to convert over movies quick.

Thanks guys.

By the way this forum is great for ux info.

djboa 03-21-2005 03:49 PM

newest beta of ffmpeg is a lot faster than that ... so far the tests I have done at 480x320 are at 2x realtime ... ie half an hour to encode a one hour clip ...

command line interface only at the moment ... so it's probably not what you want :)

other option is 3gpp converter, which is optimized for psp, also based on ffmpeg but uses xvid codec instead of the built in mpeg4 ... it might be a bit quicker than IC2, but not by much ...

haven't seen anything else that converts for the UX ... so if you are not a geek, stick to IC2 for the moment ...

JAmerican 03-21-2005 04:09 PM

Where to download FFmpeg from?

JAmerican

vybe232 03-21-2005 04:17 PM

thx djboa...unfortunately i am a geek...ill give ffmpeg a try:)

thx

JAmerican 03-21-2005 04:22 PM

How do you install this thing???

JAmerican

.PoNeH 03-21-2005 04:48 PM

IC2 doesn't work for me...I keep getting errors. I use IC1.5 which is slower, but is not a problem since I usually have it encoding while I'm asleep.

JAmerican 03-21-2005 04:51 PM

I get erros as well as Cannot convert movies or something like that. Not sure why. I've uninstalled and reinstalled and still the same.

JAmerican

.PoNeH 03-21-2005 04:52 PM

Yup...that was my error also. Just use 1.5. It's the same thing, just 30% slower.

djboa 03-21-2005 05:53 PM

ffmpeg compiled for for windows ... as minimal as I dared make it.

ffmpeg.exe

2 pass batch file example:
---
ffmpeg -y -i file.avi -s 446x320 -padleft 14 -padright 20 -b 512 -minrate 0 -maxrate 768 -bufsize 1024 -pass 1 -passlogfile xv_log -muxvb 768 -acodec aac -ac 2 -ar 24000 -ab 32 -f psp file.mp4

ffmpeg -y -i file.avi -s 446x320 -padleft 14 -padright 20 -b 512 -minrate 0 -maxrate 768 -bufsize 1024 -pass 2 -passlogfile xv_log -muxvb 768 -acodec aac -ac 2 -ar 24000 -ab 32 -f psp file.mp4
---

leave out the -pass and -passlogfile stuff for 1 pass

padtop and padbottom works as well if your source is widescreen, you have to work out the dimensions to keep aspect, and pad it up to 480x320 ... at least as far as I know, experiment and let me know ...

Marko 03-21-2005 06:25 PM

What size processor are you guys using? I just converted a 1hr 26 min film on my P4 in about 30 minutes using IC1.5. :) I think it takes longer to drag it to the card than to convert it! ;)

rcxAsh 03-21-2005 10:54 PM

Just a question, djboa, what are the benefits of doing the conversion in 2 passes? Quality?

edit Oh also, what version/snapshot of ffmpeg are you using? The last time I tried to convert a 480x320 file, it failed to play on my Clie... Just checking quickly... I think I have 0.4.9-pre1... maybe I should get a newer CVS snapshot? Hmm.. but then again... 320x240 is not terrible.

.PoNeH 03-21-2005 11:22 PM

Yup, quality is the main benefit. Both in video and audio.

JAmerican 03-21-2005 11:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcxAsh
Just a question, djboa, what are the benefits of doing the conversion in 2 passes? Quality?

edit Oh also, what version/snapshot of ffmpeg are you using? The last time I tried to convert a 480x320 file, it failed to play on my Clie... Just checking quickly... I think I have 0.4.9-pre1... maybe I should get a newer CVS snapshot? Hmm.. but then again... 320x240 is not terrible.


Not that great at DOS apps. Can someone tell me the commands for converting a video to 480x320 with ffmpeg and it work on my device. Thanks.

JAmerican

rcxAsh 03-22-2005 12:26 AM

From what I gather, djboa's examples output 480x320 files?

.PoNeH 03-22-2005 01:12 AM

I don't understand the first thing on it, but I think you're right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.