![]() |
Petition to Stop Linked Keyword Advertisements I don't know if I'm the only one who's annoyed by this (or if I'm the only one seeing them!) but a month or two ago 1src started selling linked keywords to advertisers here in the discussion forums, and it really bugs me. I know that 1src needs to make money - we all do. But the problem is that these linked words look very similar to links that WE put in our posts to help others out. So for instance in a recent post I linked some words like "check AOL" to point a user to a help-page, but in the same post some of my words were linked to advertisers. Confusing for the poor sod who may have clicked on the ads, and then been scared to click on the link that I put in. IMO it's one thing for a site to sell advertising on the side, but it's another thing entirely for them to sell ads on MY WORDS, which I never agreed to. If 1src continues to sell ads on things that I write, I'm leaving. Who's with me? |
I always make my links http://www.1src.com like this. I haven't been bothered by them and most of the time I don't even realize they are there except to the differnet color and the underline. I've seen these in other places too. The links are notably different as the advertisement is double underlined and a different color. Perhaps a note to users that there are advertisements that help support the service that 1src provides to us that way this doesn't happen in the future. i didn't even think there could have been any confusion :) |
They bother me too. I`ve disabled the advertising from 80% of the browsers/computers I use to surf 1src, but they still annoy the heck out of me. |
Yes. Those green word ads are sooo annoying! |
Disable them by blocking *intellitxt* in Adblock if you have Mozilla Firefox. |
Umm, maybe I'm missing something, but I've seen none of the words you guys are describing, and I've come back to haunt this forum a bit over the past few weeks. I'm using Firefox on Linux and Solaris, for what it's worth... what you're describing sounds an awful lot like spyware. You're seeing the links right in the forum posts, right? Because I don't see any of them. Maybe you should check your computers out before you jump the gun. |
Quote:
It's definitely not spyware. I've Ad-Aware scanned, spybot scanned and even Norton scanned my PC and it's a very clean PC. Check these out for more info. on this "embedded advertising": http://www.alwayson-network.com/com...d=P3553_0_8_0_C http://www.embedded.com/whatisIntelliTXT.htm Maybe you should do a little research before you "jump the gun". |
Quote:
They don't show up when I use linux + firefox, they do when I use windows + firefox. It's not spyware, but a very intrusive way of advertising. I've blocked them also with adware. |
I also find it really annoying. I thought it was just me who felt this way, glad to see I'm not the only one! |
I agree, it would be nice if we had the option to disable them. I use Internet Expolorer 6.1, and I'm not aware of any way to turn them off. If you wish to complain directly to the company which created IntelliTXT, go to this website http://lmcd.us.intellitxt.com/whati...TXT.asp?ipid=14#, and look on the upper right corner of the webpage for customer feedback. |
I hope I don't get banned for writing this. Intellitxt uses Javascript to search for certain keywords, and then hightlight them. No software is installed on your machine, and this is why you only see these green highlights on certain pages. I disabled Intellitxt found on websites like Tomshardware, but it appears Intellitxt is adding new servers. I'll just have to keep up with them. Here is what you need to do to remove the ads: Open your HOSTS file, and edit it. If you are using Windows, the HOSTS file can be found in C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc. Add the following line to the end of your hosts file: 127.0.0.1 tribal.us.intellitxt.com What happens here? Normally, your computer looks to it's internal HOSTS file to see how it should translate a URL into an IP address. If there is no entry, it goes out to the web and performs some magic to get the translation. Since we've entered the URL with an address of our very own computer, the link is quickly ignored, and the advertising doesn't show up. What browsers does the HOSTS file affect? Every one of them. I've gotten intellitxt ads on everything but Mozilla, but only on a Windows machine. This method will work for you, regardless of your browser. I've used this method to get rid of annoying porn popups, flashy GIF ads, etc. My hosts file is probably 3000 lines long, and available to any who ask. Now let's see how benevolent our moderators are. |
My main problem with these ads is the search java applet which slows my mozilla down to a crawl... |
Tam, Read the post just above yours. It tells you exactly what to do in order to fix the problem. It should take no longer than 10 minutes. You don't even need to close your browser or restart your computer. |
Hey it works too! Thanks a lot Giles |
My answer is: Get a decent browser! IE? Noway. Firefox? Don't make me laugh! Opera is the only browser worth using! Security through incompatibility! :D (Yes, this is a tongue-in-cheek post before any fanboys start a flamewar :D) |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM. |
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.