PDA

View Full Version : New PalmGear gimmick


Shamrock
03-24-2003, 10:24 PM
Anybody else have PalmGear demanding you join their "club" before you can download a demo. I ran a little "background" check with my anti-spam/popup software and it looks like it's a Verisign sales hook. Now THERE'S an ugly combo....PalmGear and Verisign!

rhart00
03-24-2003, 10:33 PM
multiple threads already started about this topic

Kelzy
03-25-2003, 12:53 AM
Yea happen'd to me today, when i tried to dl a piece of software ...... wanting me to register first

wnm
03-25-2003, 07:17 AM
I only use Palmgear to search. When I want to demo or buy, I either go to the developers site, or Handango.

rhart00
03-25-2003, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by wnm
I only use Palmgear to search. When I want to demo or buy, I either go to the developers site, or Handango.

I do this sometimes though I wish they had links to the developers sites on palmgear

mikra
03-25-2003, 01:41 PM
yes, rhart00 I wish they would put a link to the developers site in the info of a file. But if you klick the developers name you just get a list of all software from that developer.
What I do:
If you move the mouse over the email adress the status line of the browser (IE) shows the email adress. The domain name often gives a hint to the developers site.
EXAMPLE: email: jonny@test.com  ...  try www.test.com (http://www.test.com) (this are no working links, just examples)

This works in many cases :rolleyes: .
Michael

Tixx
03-25-2003, 02:03 PM
Originally posted by mikra
yes, rhart00 I wish they would put a link to the developers site in the info of a file. But if you klick the developers name you just get a list of all software from that developer.
What I do:
If you move the mouse over the email adress the status line of the browser (IE) shows the email adress. The domain name often gives a hint to the developers site.
EXAMPLE: email: jonny@test.com  ...  try www.test.com (http://www.test.com) (this are no working links, just examples)

This works in many cases :rolleyes: .
Michael

I do this too:)

rhart00
03-25-2003, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by mikra
yes, rhart00 I wish they would put a link to the developers site in the info of a file. But if you klick the developers name you just get a list of all software from that developer.
What I do:
If you move the mouse over the email adress the status line of the browser (IE) shows the email adress. The domain name often gives a hint to the developers site.
EXAMPLE: email: jonny@test.com  ...  try www.test.com (http://www.test.com) (this are no working links, just examples)

This works in many cases :rolleyes: .
Michael

good point. seems so obvious I can't believe I didn't think of that

sebring
03-25-2003, 04:25 PM
Shhh!! They'll close that loophole too.;)

jbarr
03-25-2003, 04:32 PM
THis totally sux. I now have to jump through hoops just to download a demo or worse, a freeware program? They are obviously tracking my usage, and then, as the file downloads, I get a screen full of ads.

I know they have to make money, and I do commend them for surviving as long as they have, but really, if I'm going to buy a program, I'll buy it. If I'm not, I'm not. Their ads and hoops won't sway that thought. I just find the site plain annoying.

philipx
03-25-2003, 10:46 PM
If the hover-over thing fails, you could always do a search for the product name on google and greater improve your chances to hit the one you need right away by adding the "palm" word to your search.

n2ifp
03-25-2003, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by jbarr
THis totally sux. I now have to jump through hoops just to download a demo or worse, a freeware program? They are obviously tracking my usage, and then, as the file downloads, I get a screen full of ads.

I know they have to make money, and I do commend them for surviving as long as they have, but really, if I'm going to buy a program, I'll buy it. If I'm not, I'm not. Their ads and hoops won't sway that thought. I just find the site plain annoying.

I use Ad/Subtract Pro to kill the ads and animations.

bobbd
03-26-2003, 05:51 AM
Everyone that is disturbed by this should send PalmGear a message explaining why it's bothersome. Obviously, they've done this to either make money or not lose as much. If the net effect is to lose or annoy customers, maybe they'll change back.

Bob

davidrgeorge
03-26-2003, 09:08 AM
I remember several years back, when PalmGear was in its infancy, it DID have links to developers websites...not sure why they took it off. A very STUPID move indeed. Very inconvenient.

Unregistered
03-26-2003, 09:27 AM
They lost their cut if you bought directly from the developer.