View Full Version : Green Hyperlinks to ads - Very annoying!
wellsjs
04-07-2006, 05:25 PM
Anyone else bothered by 1src's Green hyperlinks to ads, like the one in my next sentence? When I mouse over them, they pop up. There's no "X" to close them. They don't go away as fast as I'd like. How fast would I like them to go away? Uhmmm . . . milliseconds . . . so fast that I wouldn't even see them! :eek:
sunoke
04-07-2006, 05:29 PM
Anyone else bothered by 1src's Green hyperlinks to ads? When I mouse over them, they pop up. There's no "X" to close them. They don't go away as fast as I'd like. How fast would I like them to go away? Uhmmm . . . miliseconds . . . so fast that I wouldn't even see them! :eek:
This has probably already been discussed, but:
I am. I use firefox and Adblock to block these kind of ads, I find them very intrusive. I can understand that running a site like this costs money, and that most of that money has to be generated by advertisements, but this goes just one step to far.
dragonsgames
04-07-2006, 05:31 PM
It drives me crazy..... :mad:
Burdie
04-07-2006, 06:12 PM
Grrr... I don't like them either.
I know they have been discussed before. I use Firefox - and have tried Adblock. But it also blocked things on other sites I did want to see (maybe I didn't tweak it right?)
Can we still donate to 1src? I haven't seen anything on that recently. I am at a place where I can do that now and would happily di it rather than see the ads pop up.
Burdie
hherbzilla
04-07-2006, 06:44 PM
i have them blocked with Firefox/Adblock as well
kiteandcamera
04-07-2006, 06:58 PM
This is the small price we pay so we may continue to enjoy the content on 1src at no cost. Annoying? Yes, but likely necessary.
Chukar
04-07-2006, 10:29 PM
Open your hosts file and add these lines:
127.0.0.1 tribal.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 jupiter.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 itxt.vibrantmedia.com
Voila! They're gone.
timepilot84
04-08-2006, 12:06 AM
Use Firefox and get the Adblock extension, then install the
Adblock Filterset.G updater. You see no ads, and you don't have to configure Adblock. It's great. And if you spot any annoying ads, you go to the Filterset.G website and fill out a report, and the next time you get on the web, they've updated the filterset to include the offender. It's pretty sweet.
wellsjs
04-08-2006, 11:04 PM
Open your hosts file and add these lines:
127.0.0.1 tribal.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 jupiter.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 itxt.vibrantmedia.com
Voila! They're gone.Doesn't seem to work for me. Can you give more details?
Elfyn
04-09-2006, 07:42 AM
You need to also ad this line:
127.0.0.1 1src.us.intellitxt.com
Close and reopen your browser and the meanie greenies should be gone.
~~~~~~
Here's a link (http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm) to a page that explains how to edit your HOSTS file. There are also some nifty tools that help you manage your hosts file.
Those annoying green hyperlinks are showing up on more and more websites. They come from a company called intellitxt. Below is the ever-growing group of intellitxt ads from my own hosts file.
127.0.0.1 tribal.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 jupiter.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 itxt.vibrantmedia.com
127.0.0.1 freecodecs.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 ign.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 itxt3.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 itxt2.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 itxt1.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 itxt4.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 designtechnica.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 1src.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 ubergizmo.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 howardchui.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 mobilewhack.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 sprintusers.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 afterdawn.us.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 softpedia.uk.intellitxt.com
127.0.0.1 freewarepalm.uk.intellitxt.com
Whenever you come across a website with the green hyperlinks just go up to View/Privacy Report in your browser and look for intellitxt. Ad the main domain portion to your HOSTS file and close and reopen your browser.
wellsjs
04-09-2006, 10:54 AM
Elfyn,
Thanks, that was a great help. My initial problem was I did not change the IP address to my actual one. Since my computer connects to my wireless access point via WiFi, what I needed instead of 127.0.0.1 was 192.168.1.2.
Got that straight, using your list, and all is fixed! I'm happy . . . happy . . . happy! :D
I also bookmarked that great link in case I need it for future reference. ;)
Elfyn
04-09-2006, 02:00 PM
Glad to be of help. :D Those durn green hyperlinks annoy me to no end.
I wonder why you had to use your router address rather than the null address of 127.0.0.1 :confused: I have a wifi router too and I still use the 127.0.0.1 in my hosts file... oh well, the important thing is that it worked. ;)
wellsjs
04-09-2006, 02:12 PM
I wonder why you had to use your router address rather than the null address of 127.0.0.1 :confused: I have a wifi router too and I still use the 127.0.0.1 in my hosts file... oh well, the important thing is that it worked. ;)But is your PC connected via ethernet or WiFi? I'm connected via WiFi.
zackepceo
04-09-2006, 02:21 PM
127.0.0.1 is the universal loopback IP; It's extremely strange that it doesn't work for you.
For the definative thread regarding this issue, please see http://www.1src.com/forums/showthread.php?t=67116
EDIT: Maybe not so definative because of its age, but it certainly is still helpful.
wellsjs
04-09-2006, 02:25 PM
Might have to do with PC-cillin firewall setting? If so, then I'd just as soon leave things as I have them using my router address rather than chance punching a hole in my firewall! :eek:
Telyx
04-10-2006, 07:50 AM
Can you use wildcards (for example, *.intellitxt.com/*) in a HOSTS file? They work in Adblock, and it would make a HOSTS file shorter.
blues
04-10-2006, 11:42 AM
The best way to block it is to use Firefox's script blocking feature. Block scripts that run from http://1src.us.intellitxt.com/*
Telyx
04-11-2006, 06:13 AM
I'm not seeing the links/ads as it is, with AdBlock blocking everything from *.intellitxt.*
applejosh
04-11-2006, 09:24 AM
Can you use wildcards (for example, *.intellitxt.com/*) in a HOSTS file? They work in Adblock, and it would make a HOSTS file shorter.
Pretty sure the answer is no.
HOSTS file is a listing of specific servers and their associated IP address (or in our cases, fake addresses to prevent actually going to the site). Wildcards cannot be used because it suggests multiple servers, and that's not how TCP/IP name resolution works - you want to lookup the IP of one server, per request not mulitple servers all at once. It is parsed prior to using DNS (usually), so that's why the requests never make it to the proper server. It's a "hack" so to speak.
Telyx
04-11-2006, 09:49 AM
Ah, I see... one for each specific server. Thank you.
vBulletin v3.0.3, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.