PDA

View Full Version : Green in-text advertisements


oz-nom
12-27-2005, 10:19 PM
Today, for the first time, I'm seeing the green sponsored links that have been complained about by others in the past. I'm not happy about it.

I have searched the forums for "IntelliTXT" and have seen the discussion from 2004 and early 2005. Basically they seem to be saying 3 things: that members should not be seeing the links; instructions on how to block them on Windows machines; & Firefoxblocks them.

I'm a member & I use Safari on a Mac. I don't know why I'm suddenly seeing them after all this time, but I want them to go away - permanently! I find them intrusive & annoying.

So 2 questions:
1. Is this just a temporary glitch after an upgrade or will members be seeing these links all the time now?
2. Can I configure my Mac (OSX 10.4) to get rid of them?

Looking forward to some responses.

Tim

oz-nom
12-27-2005, 10:26 PM
I'm GRUMPY! :mad:
I just read my own post and it already has an advertising link. If I want to endorse a company I will do it explicitly. I do not think it appropriate for anonyous 3rd parties (even electronic ones) to make links from my text. It's rotten to read in others' posts, even worse in my own....

Help!

dmitrygr
12-27-2005, 10:52 PM
i never saw those either and if this is not removed plan to either stop using 1src alltogether [i raraly ask for help here, mostly give it so not much loss to me], make a firefox plugin to delete them, or [if i get really pissed off] modify the site itself!

Joel
12-28-2005, 01:24 AM
Hi. I fired up Camino and Safari to check on this and sure enough the links are there. (I use Opera which does not show these links.)

I'm not saying you all have to switch to Opera... ;) We'll look into the matter and see what's beneficial for everyone.

oz-nom
12-28-2005, 02:27 AM
Thanks Joel. Looking forward to your response.
Cheers,
Tim
PS At least the links aren't displaying in Blazer (yet)

Telyx
12-28-2005, 12:55 PM
Firefox with the Ad-block extension works for me. I block "*.intellitxt.*" so it will stop any variants.

oz-nom
12-28-2005, 11:31 PM
Telyx, that's great for Firefox, but I actually like Safari & would prefer to keep using it. Other suggestions anyone?

Joel, any advances? And any idea why it has started all of a sudden?

oz-nom
01-04-2006, 02:18 AM
I haven't heard anything. What's the go on removing the green links?

zackepceo
01-17-2006, 03:58 PM
Here you go!
http://pimpmysafari.com/plugins/safariblock-112
Just follow the Firefox AdBlock instructions. As much as I like 1src, I have a vehement hatred torwards all those kinds of ads that change the content. The Gadgeteer also uses them, which infuriates me even more.

dragonsgames
01-17-2006, 04:54 PM
It might be just this page, but I see no green in-text ads... :D

oz-nom
01-26-2006, 05:37 PM
Thanks to Telyx & zackepceo, I now have SafariBlock installed and blocking "intellitxt". But I still think we shouldn't need 3rd party blockers (or 3rd party browsers) to avoid this sort of intrusion.

Anyway, thanks again to Telyx & zackepceo. Pointers much appreciated.

oz-nom
01-26-2006, 08:13 PM
Unfortunately, SafariBlock disables right click/control click. So in order to browse normally, I need to disable SafariBlock - kinda defeats the purpose.

Looking forward to a server-side solution.

zackepceo
01-26-2006, 08:20 PM
I doubt that will happen. As much as I like Reggie and Joel, we've been asking, bringing up points and even possible breaches of licenses for a very long time and nothing has been done.

thenightfly42
01-27-2006, 10:02 AM
Firefox with the Ad-block extension works for me. I block "*.intellitxt.*" so it will stop any variants.
The other solution in Firefox is to use the extension Greasemonkey (http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/) and the script IntelliTxt Disabler (http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/852) (I prefer to target this precicely, rather than kill all advertisements).

05Edge
01-27-2006, 10:11 AM
It might be just this page, but I see no green in-text ads... :D

It's funny that you don't see them because when I view this site, there are two of them in your sig! One advertising for the clie nx70 (Which I can apparently by for about $235, and the other for sony.

Even the "sony" on this post is now an ad!